Slow Coach day

Despite leaving the sticks at 6am, I almost didn’t make it to practice this morning, useless replacement bus driver seemed to take the slowest route possible from Harrow he could find. As we drove along the Marylebone Road I was at the point of diverting to AYL as the clock ticked round, but luckily traffic was light and every traffic light was green and he dropped us on the main road, so I ran back to Euston Square, jumped on a Circle line train as the doors shut and was on my way to YP, arriving at 8.05, phew.

Well the bus had set the tone, maybe it was the new moon, but I was sluggish today, it took me a while to get going, I woke up in  Prasarita Padot A, as Cary got me to widen my legs and try and get my head to the ground. Not many people there today, which meant extra attention, Parsvottanasana was deeper and elbows not left to their own devices and as I came up Cary was waiting at the end of my mat for UHP. A new addition today in that she had me trying to bend the elbow more to try and lift the foot and also engaging and turning the chest.

Seated and all those vinyasas, my chance to get into Kino’s shin cross jump backs, they lasted until Marichyasana, when I was getting tired and my wrist started grumbling. A much more intense practice today with the extra attention, advice about coming out of the Janusirsasanas. She leaves me alone in Supta K now that I can get into it on my own, I am now trying to really flatten my chest and work at lifting with my feet behind the head. Brilliant assist in Baddha Konasana, my head somehow ended up way past my feet. After Supta Padangusthasana Cary asked why I had “left outChakorasana, cue discussion about dodgy necks. I have attempted this in the past, but have never been too confident, especially with my tendency for lopsidedness. She got me into a Halasana, then helped me over, I am not sure how much I want to experiment with this at home alone, to be honest.

I was pretty tired by the time it came to Urdva Dhanurasana, so I started off with some bridges before some not great UD’s, on number 3 Cary tried to get me to move my left foot in, which resulted in me getting completely stuck and collapsing out, tried again and managed to follow her instructions.

After playing around with a few dropbacks on my own, wondering if I had the energy and focus today, I was just thinking of bottling out into Paschimottanasana, when assistance arrived, funny how a teachers inspiring presence can suddenly lift you and give you the energy to carry on. She began by getting me to the ground and back up 3 times, then 3 of what seemed like very quick half way cross arm dropbacks, no time between them at all, just up and down without stopping, before doing another full drop back. I am not sure what changed, but this last one suddenly seemed to have a much deeper bend, pushing my chest up, the floor came into view much earlier, suddenly I was on the floor, I didn’t realise she had let go until Cary instructed me to walk my hands in, “more, a little more“, shit that’s hard, then brought me back up, before giving me a Paschimottanasana squish. I am still not sure what suddenly made the last one more croquet hoop than flat bridge, but it felt very different???

Rest of closing seemed to take a while, the tank was empty, when I looked at the clock I thought I’ll never make the first train, so decided to have a little extra time than usual in Savasana in the sunshine.

Practice was HARD today, not as much energy (is there something to this new moon business after all I wonder) as I needed and lots of adjustments and encouragement to go that little bit further in poses, but that’s what its about, everyone would do it if it was easy, right.

Spooky coincidence on the way home. I had to cross a few roads, on 3 occassions when I waited for traffic I noticed cars with UHP as their registration letters, now that’s weird!

3 Responses to “Slow Coach day”

  1. gumbomum Says:

    I fear Chakorasana too — although it’s okay with an assist. I tweaked my neck when I was a kid doing a backwards roll and I guess I never got over it.

  2. globie Says:

    If I could guarantee that I would go back in a straight line it wouldn’t be so bad, but when it goes wrong its the neck that gets it.

  3. Putmoo Says:

    For me, Chakrasana is hit or miss. Lately, it’s been miss. The thing with starting in Halasana is a good way to work it at home. If you go into Halasana and really bring your toes to the floor, place your hands on the floor by your ears and rack back and forth a few times to get a rythm going. That could be step one at home. When the rocking feels non-threatening, really push into your hands once your hips are “forward” over your head and you should just sort of flip over. The goal is to push into your hands with enough effort to get your weight off your shoulders and physics will do the rest. I’ve been having to go back to this step for my Chakrasana. I figured I’ve go so many things back to step one, what’s one more? If you take it step by step, the straight line thing should be no problem if you push with both hands equally. Bit by bit…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

