Accidental return of dropbacks!

April 11th was the last time I did an unassisted dropback, the week before my wrist went haywire, 3 long months ago. I was beginning to fear them or the thought of them and the possible consequences of a dodgy landing on my poor left wrist. Practice has been better every day since Monday, my lower back is much happier, I have done full primary Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and the last 2 practices I have had much better attempts at Urdva Dhanurasana and done a bit of hanging back and walking down the door.

This evening I decided on a shorter practice, up to Marichyasana C, then some deeper backbend experiments, you know all those things that I officially don’t know how to do! A couple of crap UD’s then some better ones, pushing up and managing to walk the hands in a little.Time for some hang backs, crank, something opens a notch further than last night, I am much further down the door, well below the handle, after a few goes I go back to my mat with the intention of hanging back just to see how much of the mat will come into view, the answer quite a lot, on the second attempt I suddenly find that gravity has taken over and I have passed the point of no return, somehow I manage to get my arms straight and land the hands just before my head, dazed but happy. What now? I decide to try and do an intentional one, the mind is different when you intend getting to the floor, you are consciously looking out for the point of no return, though this time I had my arms straight and ready from higher up and managed to land safely. I am back to the stage of just getting down in one piece, I need to get back to consciously aiming my hands towards my feet to get the deeper bend, but one step at a time.

A sudden opportunity for a double practice this weekend, C is guesting at TY tomorrow morning, I have missed her teaching these 7 weeks while she has been in Mysore, she has this way of bringing the best out of my practice.

4 Responses to “Accidental return of dropbacks!”

  1. Ragdoll Says:

    Excellent news! Well done especially on not panicking when you realised you’d passed the point of no return, you sound really comfortable with them.

  2. globie Says:

    I wish I was comfortable, they didn’t happen today :-(

  3. Ragdoll Says:

    I get the impression though, that it is physical and not psychological? So they’ll be back, sooner or later. Not to say that I don’t appreciate the frustration! From the outside – and a few hundred miles away – I feel like it’s just a matter of time. Oh, and practice . . .

  4. globie Says:

    It is certainly more physical, the wrist and the lower back, but I don’t want to do too much too soon, it is frustrating when one day they happen, yet today my back felt rigid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

