Extra unscheduled practice

I wanted to practice today, but I wanted a practice free of the phone ringing, free of people asking me things mid asana, free of my own distractions, I just wanted to do it. So I decided as it was a warm humid morning to go back to the local ashtanga class which now happens in the Quaker Hall. I usually find venues which are not primarily yoga Shala’s to be draughty, I had done classes here before a few years ago and knew about the¬† 2 doors that seem to open on their own letting the breeze in, I knew about the teachers ways, she has people doing 2nd who can hardly do Primary and in some cases don’t even know the sequence. Not that I care these days what others get up to.

She just let me get on with it while she helped a couple of beginners and her regulars until PPC. I seemed to have a nice flow and I was quite pleased she didn’t break it, even while adjusting Triang Mukha and Mari C. When I do get an assist in Mari C, Mari D always seems to be easier, as was the case. I was virtually in Supta K on my own when she came over to rebind my hands.

Despite a few around me playing around in 2nd, apart from my legitimate Pasasana¬† and a semi Krounchasana stretch I resisted the temptation to do more of 2nd, even though I know the sequence and know that as a follower of NG she probably would not have minded. I’m a goody goody these days LOL :-)

A few decent Urdva Dhanurasanas, then she took me to the wall for more UD’s with the heals of my hands against the wall, pushing up and trying to bring the chest towards the wall, quite a good exercise which I may have to try elsewhere. As I was by the wall I stood up and started playing around dropping back, I do this until I start to feel the hips moving forward and the control appearing, but I didn’t get to experiment for long before I got 3 assisted ones before the rest of closing.

So a nice solid practice and home for lunch. After an unscheduled nap this afternoon zzzzz… I was stiff and started playing around doing more backbends, futon dropbacks etc just to undo the stiffness, alas I wasn’t warmed up enough for the one dropback attempt which resulted in my “Safety pillow” saving my head and pissing my wrist off on landing, what was it Dena said to me the other week “No accidents!”


2 Responses to “Extra unscheduled practice”

  1. Linda Says:

    Hi,
    Just wanted to let you know that I started a new blog about my yoga practice. This one is in english (not so many swedish speaking blog reading ashtangis out there :) ) so in case you want to read about the Kino&Tim workshop in Stockholm you can find some thoughts there. Let’s just see if I can keep up the blogging in english :) Have a nice day!

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Linda,

    That’s great, another blog to read.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

