Aching arms & sore elbow

I went to turn the light on in my Kitchen last night, reaching up made me realise my arm felt like lead, aching and stiff. Its my upper arm that aches, probably from pushing up into all these backbends. Yoga has never had this cummulative effect that carries over into life in general before, after practice I’m a bit tired and expect it after 2 hours of sweating, but my arms are both stiff during the day lately. My poor right elbow is also sore, I slipped over again on the ice walking to town during my lunch break on Monday, the same elbow I crashed down on a couple of weeks ago on the black ice, the elbow is not at all happy doing Vinyasas.

Having had Sunday off for Moon day, Monday’s practice took 2 hours and was stiff and mentally taxing, the constant mental battle of  “I’ll stop at Navasana”, then “after Supta K”, but eventually I made it to the end, via some fairly dire backbends, my arms seem to have lost all the strength they had gained since Kino exorted us for “just 2% more”.

Tuesday was better, all of Primary in 65 minutes, but OMG my arms felt like jelly pushing up into UD’s. Dropbacks to the floor for now and pushing back up off the Futon, I have completely lost the knack of being able to do it off my Bolster, I think I need to work my way down again. Too much thinking, too much expectation only equalls too much disappointment.

6 Responses to “Aching arms & sore elbow”

  1. Maria Says:

    65 min for primary??? Wow, thats fast…. :)

  2. Globie Says:

    Hi Maria,

    Thats 65 minutes for standing and seated, its usually at least another 45 minutes for backbends and closing, oh and Pasasana! At home it can be much longer some days, especially if I have a tea break at Navasana :-)

  3. Pat Moore Says:

    “Tea break at Navasana” – too funny! I’ve been reading Gregor Maehle’s book and he talks about the burden of expectation being a hindrance to the practice. I think he’s right. If your arms are dying, maybe you can modify for a while: Cobra instead of Upward Dog? Supported backbends for a little while? This time of year is tough. Hang in there.

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Pat,

    I don’t know why my arms have suddenly turned to jelly, when Kino had us do all those extra backbends in led I felt strong the next day for the Mysore practice, but doing them at home I am getting worried about being able to lift my mug of Navasana tea.

    I just checked the weather, a week to go until I practice in the 30c heat of Sri lanka, that should improve things.

  5. susananda Says:

    Sore/stiff arms and shoulders could be A) you are overdoing it, or B) they’re stiff because you’re doing some good opening work and taking them where they’ve never been before? I don’t know, you decide….

  6. globie Says:

    Well hopefully trains permitting you will be able to judge if I have opened more. I think they are more open, but as I work more into the new spaces maybe I am then overdoing it, hard to say.
    Better today though, full practice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

