Back to it

Since Monday’s drop back abandoned practice it’s been 4 days of varying degrees of back pain. Tuesday I couldn’t stand, sit or bend without my lower back taking my breath away. By Thursday after 3 evenings of ice, heat and the Tennis ball I had some semblance of normality back. The trigger point going by the tennis ball wasn’t the site of pain in the lower back, but lower down in the SI and in to the Psoas at the front, thanks to Susan for explaining and sending some helpful info through.

So I was in two minds if to practice today, I had to be in London anyway, then I found out that Cary was covering at TY, so decided I would be in safe hands. The good thing about Saturday at TY is that you go into the studio an hour early and play around or practice, so I was able to warm up slowly and by the official start time I was quite loose and actually had a decent practice, everything bound, I was a little wary when I got to the 2nd side of Mari D, but it was fine. Supta K Cary got to me in Kurmasana stretching me further forward before binding me up in full Supta K.

Left alone to play Pasasana , after nearly a week off a bit surprised to finger touch the first side and bind the second :-)

So the test, how would my back react to backbends? Urdva Dhanurasana was a struggle , but they got better, enough to try hanging back from standing. C came over remembering Monday and assisted me dropping back, her usual game of letting go progressively earlier coming up, followed by her trademark Paschimottanasana squash.

So eight hours later I’m not in agony, just a little stiff, hopefully tomorrows usual Sunday Shala practice won’t be too much. But if it is I stil have the appointment with the Osteopath booked for Tuesday.

8 Responses to “Back to it”

  1. ragdoll Says:

    Glad your practice today seems to suggest that your back is OK. Scary times when you’re injured.
    Have been loving the egg photos – I’m making a flying visit to London on Tuesday/Wednesday, but think they’ll have gone by then, now they’ve been auctioned off.

    • globie Says:

      Hi R,
      It feels better for moving, the posh Shala also has nice hot, powerful showers for after which helps too. My back is still very cranky, but at least with C teaching I knew she knew to be careful.

      Have fun in London, are you going to practice ? I loved the eggs, but I think they are now gone :-(

  2. susiegb Says:

    But make sure you do keep the appointment with the osteopath Kevin! Even if it seems a lot better, there may be other things causing it and if not ‘looked at’ could come back again. I’m a huge fan of osteopaths!! :)

  3. ragdoll Says:

    Sadly no London practice for me – I’m going to down to keep my sister company while her nephew goes through some tests at Gt Ormand St, so I’ll be mostly sitting around in the hospital. She’s quite the yogi herself though, so there’s always the chance of an impromtu session!

    And what Susie says about the osteo – prevention is better than cure and all that.

  4. Ragdoll Says:

    Just spotted my typo – my nephew, her son! Thanks for the good luck, it’s a rare condition that they suspect, so I’ll not put it up on here, but they’ve been through it with his brother so we know what to expect now. And that brother is now 4 and fit as a fiddle.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

