Shala Art

The Shala has some lovely pieces of art dotted around, from carvings of obstacle removing Ganesha

20120909-153134.jpg

Paintings of the feet and hands that take us through practice

20120909-153241.jpg

20120909-153312.jpg

The words associated

20120909-153420.jpg

And even in that little room at the end of the corridor is a mixture of humour, landscape and instructions. A new Boonchu cartoon has appeared, The truth about Pasasana

20120909-153730.jpg

This new cartoon adding to the mountain landscape

20120909-153829.jpg

And the instruction as Ashtangi’s queue outside as you laugh at the cartoon and take in the mountains

20120909-154018.jpg

Despite actually being there early, it was busy today, I ended up in the left corner by the window, at first I thought I’m going to be chilly as the breeze cooled my left side, but it didn’t take long before the humidity and heat generated by 18 or so others practising had the torrents pouring off me. Having walls to my left and both directly in front and behind is quite focussing, only aware of Aki on my right.

Mostly left alone in standing, only Prasarita C assisted. I’m definitely moving through Primary faster now, especially when left alone, Supta K on my own before anyone spotted me, then only a 180 degree Garbha as I realised the Radiator was too close for a complete 360! Nice assist in Baddha Konasana, another of those postures that were once a problem, now I enjoy the assist, it helps to have good assisters who know when the body releases and opens and you are ready for full nose to floor.

By the time I got to Pasasana I was getting tired, heat, dehydration, fuel shortage? 2S is a case of be careful what you wish for it seems, going by the pounds I’ve lost of late. Salabhasana was good and surprisingly my right hand seems to have got the plot with Bhekasana, though the left is still struggling, even with L sitting on me somehow squashing my hands and feet down at the same time as pulling my shoulders back, how many hands does she have?

Urdva Dhanurasana was fine but could I stand up, 4 times I dropped back and was stuck with the weight seemingly going the wrong way. I was shattered and about to give up, but V came over and said my breath was too fast. She talked me down through the next drop back, then somehow back up to standing, getting me to control the breath and telling me I was coming up. Once I’ve done one I can do it, so I did 4 more before V returned for the assisted half way and full walk in and up. Most of the time we don’t need that much help, but the good assistants know when we are stuck and know what is needed to solve the blockage, both my breath and jaw need to chill!

Alas next Sunday is a Moon day, the last bit of art on the notice blackboard and instruction to “go out and lie in :-)

20120909-162715.jpg

8 Responses to “Shala Art”

  1. susananda Says:

    I’m glad V has got you to take on board relaxing the face :))

  2. globie Says:

    The theory is fine, in practice it will take longer, but at least I (occasionally ) remember.

  3. Susie Says:

    All those pictures make m ‘homesick’ for that particular Shala! :)

  4. V Says:

    Be careful what you write, Globie. Someone might read and think that in a traditional shala we, you know….care about the breath (gasp!) or that we treat students individually (double gasp!). We can’t certainly have that.

  5. Susie Says:

    Fully intend to be back soon! Planning for next year … :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

