Some coming, some going

Another double Shala weekend, trying to remember and put in to practice the stuff we did with Kino last weekend. Much busier at TLC with Phillipa on Saturday. Lots of useful help as usual in places like Supta K and Pasasana and Bhekasana, dyslexic hands still. She left me to play backbends after adjusting Urdva Dhanurasana. Finally after much sweat and using the Block I managed to come up three times off the mat, but it’s not coming as easily as it was a month ago, it’s a real struggle as I seem to have lost the mental connection and I’m knackered by the time I get there.

A long practice followed by a busy afternoon running the Travel club, we had a talk by a guy who drove a black Cab round the world for charity, he raised over £20,000, drove over 40,000 miles and the Cab’s meter rung up a bill of circa £76,000! At the meeting I also met another Mysore friend. Everyone I meet who has been is trying to work out how and when they can get back to Mysore.

Over 2 hours on the crap rail replacement bus to get to practice today. Steady practice, nice assist in Baddha Konasana , everything bound, longer Krounchasana hamstrings in the heat and with some help from Louise both hands the right way up in Bhekasana ! Urdva Dhanurasana was ok and dropping back was controlled, but once at the bottom, I was stuck and getting more and more tired trying to stand up. Despite managing to stand up during the week and yesterday, frustration as I couldn’t find the mental connection or the energy to do it today. Eventually V came and stopped me exhausting myself completely and did a couple of assisted ones.

At the Shala in the heat and humidity some postures are much easier, the Marichyasanas and Krounchasana, but it seems to take more energy than at home. Hopefully as I get more physically used to the additional bit of 2nd I will find the energy and rejoin the mental dots to stand up. Bhekasana at least is coming.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

