Bali Day 10 – Out of the cocoon

Last practice this morning, led primary with modifications for those who havnt completed  Primary. Though full vinyasa between poses, which is always a challenge. Not a great practice, the usual problem of not having enough time to get into some and my foot still restricting me, though I know it could have been so much worse. After practice we sat in a circle thanking Dena for a wonderful retreat and her beautiful teaching, it brought tears to many an eye. Group photos and hugs followed A few of us then had a leisurely breakfast to say our goodbyes. My thanks to all those who it has been a pleasure to practice with for 10 days, Heather, Gabrielle, Christian, Ruth, Justin, Graham, Margaret, Torna, Sarah,Kelly, Tomio, Tsetsushi,Sam, Susi and of course Dena. This is the second time I have met some of you, may we meet again on a mat sometime.

2 Years ago on the last day I felt happy that I had managed to complete the workshop, that much intense practice at that level was new to me, then it felt like the last day of school and escaping. This time its different, the practice has been even more intense, but I am far better able to deal with it mentally and physically, my practice has grown significantly in those 2 years and it satisfies me and leaves me with a smile on my face, but this time I feel cocooned and safe in the environment of practice with Dena and it feels hard to leave the safe nurturing place that practice with Dena has become, the outside world is a scary place.

But I had to leave, so after a massage it was a taxi to Legian, on the beach, I just paddled in the sea, something I have not done for a long time, though the water is cold, though alas the sun is still not shining, though it did on my practice.

4 Responses to “Bali Day 10 – Out of the cocoon”

  1. eeyore Says:

    sounds so amazing! how great to have dena that much.

  2. globie Says:

    We all feel blessed, she is a truly wonderfully inspiring teacher.

  3. susananda Says:

    So nice, you are so lucky to have this experience!

    I am on holiday desperately trying to make myself practise every day.

  4. Globie Says:

    yoga holidays having a definite time and place with the addition of a great teacher, makes it a lot easier. It was a wonderfully enriching experience.

Leave a Reply

