No Closing

Sunny, but chilly on my mat this morning, like most people in rip off Britain I am loathe to turn my heating on unless I really need to, with what it now costs for gas. Standing were not bad, but my lower back is still not happy, doing updog during the vinyasa it feels like it has lost its ability to hinge, its just stuck and uncomfortable. I am wondering if Alfia had a point when she said it could be because of dwi pada, ie my experiments to bind my feet in Supta Kurmasana, which had I read her comment ealier I may not have put my back through during seated. I have lost Mari D completely now and the twist is uncomfortable because of the lower back angst, I love the twists, I love that feeling of wringing out my guts, but I don’t like the discomfort in my back. The forward bends were better though, more length in the hamstrings, even in Supta Padangusthasana.

When I got to closing I tried the first Urdva Dhanurasana and immediately came down, my lower back was not happy at all 😦 . I think I need to work on closing when I am warmer and can spend a lot more than 5 breaths in my prep poses. Today was my first practice without strapping on my stress fractured foot, I still need to sit on a block in Triang Mukha, presumably some of the tendons are still not quite right, but I did do Janu B, so there’s hope. I just hope my back is more up for it at the shala in the morning, at least it will be warm in there, much more condusive to practice than my cold upstairs.

3 Responses to “No Closing”

  1. susananda Says:

    Well… lower back shouldn’t hinge in updog, it should lengthen. But I understand about it feeling uncomfortable. I hope practice was better today…. I noticed you doing cheater’s ustrasana while Cary was busy 🙂

  2. globie Says:

    Yes, but didnt you see her come over and tell me off! What I dont get is why she has not said anything before.

    Hinging is maybe the wrong description, but it suddenly doesnt want to do something that was never a probelm before.

  3. AC Says:

    I hear cracking of the whip? 🙂

    Criminal behaviour can only be tolerated for so long………

Leave a Reply

