Return of the jump back

Practice when I got home in a room warmed by the afternoon sunshine, practice felt nice once I got into the postures, so when I got to seated I decided to test my stress fractures recovery and jump back in the vinyasas, something I have not been able or dared to do in the 10 weeks since my Vrksasana mishap in Bali. Practice seems to have more energy and momentum when you jump rather than step and I certainly built up more heat which means the muscles obviously object less, I even almost bound on the first side of Marichyasana D, if a teacher had been at hand am sure it would have just been a case of them reuniting my fingers, second side was nowhere near. The extra  heat and energy made practice feel easier, easily bound my hands in Supta K despite not being sweaty enough, couldn’t get my feet to bind though. A non crim practice through the seated, done in under an hour, my mind was clearly connected and on the job today.

As I had time I had another go at the jumping into Bakasana experiment, can’t remember which pose in Primary this is supposed to happen in, Bhujapidasana?, but if I start from half of down dog length I have enough control to stop and balance, where as if I jump from full length, the extra momentum means overshooting and loss of control. Hopefully in time I will be able to elongate the jumping gap, but it’s a start. A pretty criminal closing with all my fun extra backbends followed by 3 satisfying Urdva Dhanurasana’s and some wall walking. My lower back has improved quite a bit the last few days, although the backbends and upward dog are no longer uncomfortable, when I was doing Sirsasana and especially Ardha Sirsasana, I was surprised to feel a nasty pinching in my left lower back, if it had occured in the backbends it wouldn’t have been a surprise, but in headstand??

By the time I finished it was getting dark, Savasana as the sun set. Nice to have a more open practice, with less objection from my body. Let the weekend begin.

2 Responses to “Return of the jump back”

  1. amberlin Says:

    So how did the foot take all this jumping around? Did you practice twice today?

    You just can’t get enough, can you? 🙂

    Yesterday I bound Supta K all by myself for the first time. It was most exhilirating, as I’m sure you know. I didn’t attempt to cross the feet because I was so satisfied, but I swear they were itching to jump across. My teacher always, without fail, assists me in that pose (he was ill yesterday) but maybe next week I can be really fast and try it when he is busy. The assists are luxurious, but doing it alone is empowering! Except in UHP. Ugh, I’ll gladly take a daily assist in that one.

  2. globie Says:

    My foot was ok, though it still doesn’t like Triang Mukha, I think some of the tendons are probably not recovered. A mat and a carpet for it to land on helped, the shala wooden floor will be another matter I only practised once today, previous entry referred to the previous evening.

    Congrats on binding Supta K on your own, its quite a feeling when you fingers bind for the first time on your own, the binding of my feet is taking a while, though as you know I have found ways to cheat at this! I really don’t like UHP, if my hips are open I don’t mind an adjustment, but find it excruciating sometimes when they are not. I actually enjoy adjustment in Baddha Konasana now, I used to hate it because it hurt my bony feet.

Leave a Reply

