Practice and Travel

A nice Saturday for a change, practised at TLC first thing with Michaela, only 5 of us, so plenty of adjustments and advice. Good practice, though my knees were not too interested in lotus type poses for some reason, maybe they will come out to play in the morning with Cary. Some nice adjustments this morning Baddha Konasana and Marichyasana A, she only needed to tweak my feet in Supta Kurmasana, very satisfying! Adjusted in Urdva Dhanurasana today, I was struggling a little, so Michaela had me pushing onto her feet and supporting my hips a little to give me a deeper posture. Only managed 1 Ardha Sirsasana, couldn’t hold number 2, a lovely long Savasana. I enjoyed my practice, which is the main thing, it puts me in a good mood. Tomorrow will hopefully be satisfying too, then its off to India. A. arrived there last night and texted to say all is calm and she did practice this morning.

Followed practice by treating myself to 20 minutes at the “Walk-in” back rub in Covent Garden, my shoulders and neck appreciated the attention, they have been climbing towards my ears for a week or so. Followed this by lunch at my little cafe with a caramel fudge slice for afters, yum yum. Yoga makes me hungry, that’s all I seem to do after practice is eat!

Rest of the day has been for setting up, helping to run and putting away the travel club meeting. It takes a lot of work to set up and take apart, but its fun and JT brought in some lovely oat squares for the committee meeting. Over 100 people there again to hear Juliet Coombe talk about the Galle Fort in Sri Lanka which she has made her home. Juliet was in Galle as the Tsunami struck and ended up being journalist in the right (or wrong, depending on your point of view) place, giving live reports for ITN and writing for various newspapers around the world as the disaster unfolded. Her transaltor became her husband and she now has an 18 month old son and lives in Galle. By the time we had shooeed out the last people and cleared up, taking it apart seems to take forever, I was disappointed to find it was too late to get across to Hackney for Cary’s baby shower, I need some sleep before tomorrows 5am start.

3 Responses to “Practice and Travel”

  1. Alfia Says:

    Hi, Kevin:

    Speaking of my SK obsession – check out this clip: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCCsD5v5GGk
    Overall there is nothing special, except for the moment when the guy get into SK from bhuja pindasana. I have never seen this transition before, and now I am totally obsessed with doing it. So far – does not work… 🙂

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Alfia,

    Sorry for the delay, your comment got held up by the cyber police. Thanks for the link, I must try that way of getting into Supta K (When Cary, Cat and Susan aren’t watching 😉 ) Let me know if you do it, its obviously harder than it looks!

  3. Alfia Says:

    I try it at home – our instructors are very strict and do not allow any deviations during practice. It looks fun; totally impossible for me at the moment. I was wondering if you could do it, a king of Supta K! 🙂

Leave a Reply

