Waking the driver!

Bitterly cold at 5.25 as we stood waiting for the bus, I knew we shouldn’t have long to wait as I saw it in the lay by on the way down. We waited and waited until 5.45am, then decided he had missed us, so started to walk home. But the bus was still in the lay by, so hammered on the side and a very sleepy driver emerged, saying there should have been another bus, which is complete bollocks, he was making excuses and we set off picking up people in the next town who were complaining loudly, especially when they found out why the bus was so late. Eventually got into the city, luckily the tube was running ok and I got to practice.

I was determined to practice today, as it was Cary’s last Sunday until March. Nice and warm in there today, just as well for my shoulders with the Prasarita Padot C adjustment she gave me, after having re-arranged my hand position in A. I was lacking energy today, yesterday’s long day and only 4 hours meaningful sleep, meant I began to run out of energy and my right shoulder got uncomfortable when jumping through. I remembered not to raise my arms going into forward bends and was going ok until Mari D, my QL was not as painful today, but my knees have had an off-weekend, I did manage Marichyasana B, but D was never going to happen without assistance, which didn’t come. But I did manage to squirm my way in to Supta Kurmasana on my own, with Cary adding just the final touch to my feet crossing, though this wiped me out again and I couldn’t move from Titibhasana, though sitting there gave the chance to see AC’s brilliant new Bakasana and jump back, she has cracked this week! Surprisingly I managed to roll up into Ubhaya on the first go, I could feel I was being “watched” which makes me VERY attentive in my postures. Couldn’t do it again for Urdva P. but once bum balanced I am now able to experiment at straightening the legs, Cary instructing me as she adjusted K.next door. I would love to have these two poses by the time March rolls round, the last time Cary was away I managed to crack the Ujayi breath.

Backbends were better than yesterday, but not much, though managed to stay up for the last 2. And managed 2 Ardha Sirsasanas before getting that nice neck and back manipulation.

Despite being physically spent after over 2 hours practice, which wasnt great,  I was still happy, well Supta K makes me happy, but there is such a nice energy there, people nod or smile hello.

One more week to survive, I just took my first malaria tablet, this time next week I will be there, Indiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa…..

12 Responses to “Waking the driver!”

  1. susananda Says:

    Hm, yeah off knee weekend… I would avoid that tiriang knee click. You could try a small towel rolled up in the knee crease in that pose? Feels divine.

    I hope that when Cary comes back I’ll have cracked handstands, and in my wildest dreams, karandavasana lift!

  2. susananda Says:

    Hey you know it is still showing no comments even after my comments on your two posts, noticed this happen on someone else’s wordpress blog the other day..?

  3. globie Says:

    the knee just clicks as I go into Triang Mukha, its weird, but it makes lotus more likely,will try the towel idea

  4. AC Says:

    Don’t know about ‘brilliant’ but at long last one has cracked it AFTER several mths trying, long lectures and giggling fits………

    All I can say is that there’s hope even for the hopeless, 🙂

    What would I like to have cracked for when Tacher comes back? Everything and nothing – go figure!

  5. globie Says:

    I keep trying handstand, without much success, after what happened in the summer I don’t want to stop doing it and end up too scared to try it.

  6. AC Says:

    That’s all it is at end of day, no? You rtn to your mat each day to face that ‘fear’ and just do with some kind of awareness. When that eureka moment comes of when brain connects with body then that’s the icing on the cake. Obviously how long ‘eureka’ takes is another matter.

    Through it all though there’s got to be a huge dose of laughter otherwise there’s no point to the yoga. Yes, it has to bring us joy.

  7. globie Says:

    I’ve luckily had 2 eureka moments this year, Ujayi and binding my own hands and feet in Supta K. Its not so much fear, but its keeping the frustration at bay, you can spend months if not years seemingly getting absolutely nowhere and thinking do I really want to do this, then it suddenly happens, especially with a teacher like Cary who can give you the tools to make it happen.

    I like to hear laughter in the shala, its good for everyone.

  8. tiffany83 Says:

    malaria tablets? let me know how you feel after those…I’m so excited you’re going to India too!! Woo hoo, fun times!

  9. globie Says:

    Hi Tiff,

    I am fine so far. You have to take them for a week before you hit the malaria area, while you are there and for another week when you get back home. My regime is 2 types of tablets, first type once a week and second type daily.

  10. Ursula Says:

    It’s strange. Here we get malaria tablets, but we shall only use it when we have malaria.

  11. Alfia Says:

    It is waaarm in India (shivering in DC)….

  12. globie Says:

    It was -5 here last night, it was 92 in Goa yesterday, so I will experience nearly a 100 degree temperature swing!

Leave a Reply

