Beach yoga

dsc00062

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did something yesterday I have not done in years, sat on a lounger on the beach. I am not a sun worshiper, I burn too easily to bother, soI chose a lounger with a shady umbrella and lazed the afternoon away. The sunset was spectacular, a red ball dropping into the Indian ocean. A. had an idea to take some silhouette yoga pose pictures, so we played around in Trikonasana and Tree pose, trying to snap the photo before sinking into the wet sand.

I actually slept last night, so think my body clock is getting the plot, though there are some noisey people across the landing who get up at 5am, making a noisy exit, I dropped off and was woken by the alarm at 6.30, just time for a shower and cup of tea before the walk to the shala.

A more open practice today, felt like my muscles are spreading out again and finding length and release. I hadn’t realised, but maybe 70% of the people doing practice are here on the teacher training course, they have white tickets, locals have blue tickets and us full paying folk have yellow tickets. My shoulder is still niggling, especially once I have done a few jump throughs. Not as much adjustment today, surprisingly managed a finger touch on the first side of Mari D and after some wriggling bound hand and foot in Supta K. Added some cheaters Ustrasana this morning, need to open my back up again, and managed a coupled of decent Urdva Dhanurasana, before getting adjusted on number 3, which felt good, it allowed me to straighten my arms and achieve a deeper bend. Even went for a couple of Ardha Sirsasana’s as well, though could have done with Cary’s nice neck manipulation in the following Childs pose.

A. sort of promised my mother that she knew safe places to eat, I was so ill the last time I was here 15 years ago, I never thought I would come back to India. So this morning after practice we went to “Orange Boom”, a lovely place that is clean and has some lovely food, fresh juices and muesli as well as bacon sarnies, just what you need after 2 hours of Primary series.

Its scorching again, maybe another afternoon snoozing on the beach. There are lots of rumours, we heard they were searching vehicles further south and that they are going to shut some of the beach shacks before Christmas and maybe the market, I suppose they are obvious targets for any terrorist.

8 Responses to “Beach yoga”

  1. AC Says:

    What is this slack waking up hr?

    Should be consuming dhal and chapattis, drowned with some nice cold beer! Well, beer might be a bit too early for b’fast but……. Bacon sarnies? I was thinking of opening up a place to satisfy the expat appetite in India myself, seems there’s hope for me.

    Happy practicing in the sunshine and warmth.

    Keep safe.

  2. Alfia Says:

    Ooooh, this all sounds so nice! Sunshine and yoga, what else one needs?
    I am very happy for you, Kevin. You are doing a great job with your blog, allowing us to live vicariously through you. 🙂
    Will you post silhouette pictures?

  3. Kevin Says:

    Hi AC, 7.30 start is early enough on holiday. Not into chappatis and dont like beer, gallon of tea and bacon sarnie is wonderful.

    Alfia I don’t have the technology here to post the silhouette pics, but will post them when I get home and a few more. Hope the blog isn’t making you all jealous!

  4. Ursula Says:

    Oh, Kevin we are pleased when our fellow yogis are happy. What I read between the lines: We can expect a bunch of most exciting pictures. 🙂

  5. Ursula Says:

    Hi Kev, if possible and not too much effort, could you please delete my last comment as I mentioned my full name. I’m a bit unconcentrated in the morning. Thanks.

  6. globie Says:

    Hi Ursula, I just removed your last name, so the comment can stay, yes we are happy yogis.

  7. Ursula Says:

    Thank you very much.

    Btw, it’s a common mistake to go too low in chaturanga dandasana. B. draws our attention to it always. Upper body and upper arms are supposed to be parallell.

    Perhaps this is a solution for your shoulders. Would be good.

  8. globie Says:

    My shoulders can feel the difference, so I hope it is the answer.

Leave a Reply

