The order

A warm, but overcast morning, though seemingly no cooler in the shala. I felt a bit tired today, practice has been enjoyable, but intense and my batteries are running out. Mainly left alone today, apart from Paschimottanasana squishings and Parivrita Trikonasana adjustment. Seated seemed a bit of a slog, my shoulder is objecting a bit, so didnt jump through on the vinyasas. Adjusted in Supta K today, I just didn’t have the energy for wriggling and was quite glad when help arrived. After seated Mel came over and took me through the 2nd series poses, adding a few more on to see how I went, Dhanurasana and Parsva Dhanurasana, my god it takes it out of you. I asked Mel about where I should insert the poses, as Susan commented, I should do them after Setu Bandhasana and then do backbends and closing. I think it was just because I had got to Urdva Dhanurasana the other before she came over, then yetsreday I kept the same order because I didn’t know. She said I may want to do up to Supta Kurmasana, then 2nd series poses, then backbends and closing, but I don’t want to miss out Ubhya and Urdva P now I am at last getting somewhere with them, so practice is going to take even longer. Not that it matters here I have until 9.45 before a lead class takes over the space, though I was one of the last still in there today. Mel also had me doing Supta Vajrasana, holding my legs and going back, head touching floor then back up, you can really feel it, but todays following Urdva Dhanurasanas were very strong and felt very stable. I was pretty shattered after practice, I need a rest soon I think, but am loathe to waste an opportunity to practice in such a wonderful environment.

Last night we had a helicopter patrolling overhead, presumably part of the security operation, we also heard that apart from cancelling the Xmas beach parties they are also not opening the Saturday Night Market, I suppose it would be a bit of a target. A. heard yesterday that some of the locals are leaving Goa for Christmas, because they think its too dangerous! I have to say if it wasn’t for yoga, there isn’t much to do here, unless you are a beach bum, especially if they are going to shut everything, makes you feel like the terrorists are winning.

2 Responses to “The order”

  1. AC Says:

    What, you didn’t do the led class afterwards? Looks like you’re working very hard but all the more reason when you’re in such a lovely setting and in holiday mode.

    Gosh, if they’re going to close everything down they may as well tell tourists not to bother going to Goa. The use of ‘fear’ whether real or imagined is a powerful ‘weapon’ in itself.

    Just keep safe and go about your yoga-ing, enjoy the moment.

  2. Kevin Says:

    AC, Tomorrow is the led Primary for us, rather than on Friday, will do that and maybe have Sunday off, or do the vinyasa flow to get a lay in.

    Hope yoga tourists are not a target, though as some of them are western businesses…..Fear is a powerful weapon, but I will enjoy my practice, nothing can stop that.

Leave a Reply

