Last Indian practice

OrangeBoom Cafe

OrangeBoom Cafe

 

 

 

 

This morning I did my last practice in India, OMG how fast this has all gone, how long I looked forward to it and how quickly it has passed by. This morning it was the traditional counted practice lead by Mel, I am still nowhere near 100% what with this cold, which has now turned into a chesty cough, but at least my eyes and nose have stopped running.

 It was nice just be taken through the practice, though Mel is quite quick, which obviously means that some poses where I need to coerce my knees into lotus or require wriggle time don’t happen, though I did bind my hands in Supta K which was a surprise. I did all the vinyasas today and even found the energy for Urdva Dhanurasana and Ardha Sirsasana, it felt better than yesterday that’s for sure. India is not usually a good place to be unwell, but having a cold here in a warm environment, as opposed to shivering in Europe meant that my body stayed relatively open and didn’t shrivel in the corner next to a radiator.

100 minutes later Savasana was done and it was time to say thank you and goodbye to Mel and Adrianne. Despite the lurgy, its been a lovely 2 weeks of practice, Mel taking me into the uncharted waters of 2nd series and Adrianne’s great adjustments and Thai massage have made this exactly what I needed.

I walked back to town with Amy, who I know from Norwich, at the cafe I ran into Catherine. We both knew we knew each other and realised it was about 7-8 years ago we had been on a yoga retreat with Liz Lark in Spain. I can’t believe how many people I have run into in India who I know, is the ashtanga world really that small?

So what to do with my last day, the beach beckons, souvenir shopping maybe, I dont want to fritter it away, but on the other hand its so nice not to have pressure to do this, that or the other. I came to practice and relax and that’s what I have done.

2 Responses to “Last Indian practice”

  1. Skelly Says:

    Sounds like you had a fab time, the plague aside

  2. globie Says:

    It was great, wish I was still there.

Leave a Reply

