Short but sweet

I altered my practice tonight after being inspired by the brilliant dropback video over on Susan’s blog , I had intended to plough through as much of Primary as time would allow, but instead did  a nice Primary sequence through to Marichyasana C, before spending 20 minutes doing backbends, though with nothing like the wonderful fluency and controlled flexibility shown by Susan. I began with some bridges, then went through my usual crim Ustrasana and Laghu Vajrasana, plus a bit of laying back between the heals to stretch the front of the thighs. Urdva Dhanurasana was not bad, so decided to experiment trying to walk the hands in, umm harder than it looks and I seemed to lose the length in my arms and got stuck.

Then went and did hangbacks before trying to follow how Susan dropped back and remember what Cat told me yesterday, lengthen the back, then bend back but realising now how much more effort I need to make to send the hips forward to counteract the weight going back, all this and breathe! But I could feel the difference, even if I didn’t get very far and I remembered to inhale as I came up.

So quite a satisfying practice for a Monday.

8 Responses to “Short but sweet”

  1. susananda Says:

    Good stuff! I like my role as backbending muse 🙂

    Remember you told me once it didn’t look like I was pushing my hips forward much?? That’s a key action. I think ankle flexibility has something to do with it, so pasasana and all manner of squats can help.

    Happy bending!

  2. Alfia Says:

    I wish it was ankle flexibility only – i would have no problems then. But alas, stupid hip flexors are at play, too. Just tried it in front of the mirror. Not getting even close you Susans hip forward action. Probably in the next life time? 🙂

  3. Kevin Says:

    You should go on a world tour!

    I think it was easier to see your hip movement in the video, than when I was sat 5ft from you. Ah so 2S Pasasana may help.

  4. AC Says:

    You should keep a video diary of your backbending venture.

  5. Alin Says:

    Remebering to inhale up is huge! Congrats on that progress.

    It seems so simple, “remenber to breathe”. Hardest thing about Ashtanga!

  6. globie Says:

    Breathing at all in dropping back and coming up takes a lot of doing, I either seem to run out of breath or it kinda gets stuck so I cant engage it.

  7. susananda Says:

    I breathe quite comfortably down there, I was thinking of that today whilst doing it and thought how impossible it would be otherwise!

    Actually I am going to cook up a backbending workshop to give at YP, spoke to Lisa about it today. Exciting! 🙂

  8. globie Says:

    Let me know when that’s happening, how about late one Saturday afternoon, then we all camp on the shala floor Saturday night, kind of yoga sleepover and be up for practice Sunday morning without the transport stress!

Leave a Reply

