Walking in

dsc00216

 

I got home to find a jiffy bag from the US on my doormat, my prize for completing WoYoPracmo. A tiny glass yoga figurine of Ardha Badha Paschimottanasana. Its beautiful. 

90 minutes after deciding to do some practice last night I found I had done a full Primary series without having set out with any intention to do that much.  I didn’t think I was going to practice at all last night as my broadband was not working in the morning and I had visions of a night sitting swearing at a screen, but miraculously when I got home it was working again, so I can only assume it was “Them” and not me.

I am getting more successful at coming up and over into Ubhya, though not with completely straight legs, but seem unable to repeat the trick with Urdva P holding my feet. I think I get more success at home with Ubhya because when I do the preceeding Supta Padangusthasana I can hang on to the bed, in lieu of Cat standing on my thigh, and really stretch the leg out.

After 3 Urdva Dhanurasanas I went up again and tried walking the hands in towards the feet, the key seems to be remembering to try and keep the chest lifted so that the whole thing doesn’t collapse. It was a long way from standing up, but doing the walking in will hopefully help me get there. Followed this with some backbend attempts and a few half handstands just for fun.

6 Responses to “Walking in”

  1. Alfia Says:

    Congratulation on winning a prize! You are a very, very dedicated yogi.

  2. globie Says:

    Thanks Alfia. I don’t know about being dedicated, but I love my practice.

  3. Alfia Says:

    Totally dedicated. I love my practice, too, which does not prevent me from being a lazy bum. No dedication whatsoever. So you are my inspiration. Honestly! When I think what you have to go through to get to your shala, I feel ashamed that I skip practice so often.

  4. globie Says:

    Never thought of me being anyones inspiration before. Got to go to the other shala (AYL) for a few weeks thanks to TFL.

  5. Alfia Says:

    See, I am even kidding. I woke up this morning all sore and unhappy, and thought of how nice it would be to stay in bed for another hour. Then I remembered your commute and felt guilty. So I got up and made it to the shala, and feel much better afterward. I am now thinking of putting your name on top of the alarm clock (since I do not have your picture), so you would work your inspirational magic transoceanically. 🙂

  6. globie Says:

    I Always feel better for doing practice and more so on days when I just dont feel like it. Transoceanic yoga vibes on the way and a picture to your e-mail!

Leave a Reply

