Balasana the new vinyasa :-)

I finally did some kind of a practice tonight, more in the hope of tiring myself out so that I actually get a nights sleep, something I havn’t enjoyed since Monday. I may have gone to bed for anything up to 13 hours with the lurgy, but sleep has been fitful. Practice with the lurgy is more frustrating than practising with an injury, you feel like shit, ache all over and want to stretch and when you do summon the energy it hurts, everything is tight. I do feel better today, I am just tired and cant breathe.

I managed to do all of standing, though my hamstrings raised their objection from the get go. I decided just to throw in the odd vinyasa when it felt right during seated as I ploughed through very slowly to Marichyasana C. Mainly I took rest in Childs pose between asanas. Finished off with some bridges and one appalling attempt at Urdva Dhanurasana, where I managed to lift, but did not have the energy to stay up.

The main problem is actually breathing, there is no chance of Ujayi, I mainly had to breathe through my mouth. This makes me wonder whether spending £15 on drop in practice at TLC on Saturday morning will be worth it, when I can’t breathe and have the flexibility and flow of a bag of spuds. On the one hand it may be warm in there (its never as warm as AYL or YP), which may help my muscles to find their length, if not, then it could just end up being a painful 2 hour slog that wipes me out, making me feel worse. If I don’t practice at TLC on Saturday morning I wont have time to practice during the rest of the day, but I wouldn’t want to arrive in the intensity of AYL on Sunday morning without feeling capable of practice. Just when practice begins to start going ok, life slaps you down and slows you down. So should I go or not??

The one thing I notice as I am typing this is that 30 minutes after finishing practice I don’t actually fancy any of the chocolates in the big blue tin,  despite being ill, once I do practice. yoga is helping my body make good choices again.

3 Responses to “Balasana the new vinyasa :-)”

  1. susananda Says:

    Well, you can’t make a decision yet, cos you don’t know how you’re going to feel on Sat morning! If you feel a little better tomorrow and get a good sleep Friday night…

    I like the title. Especially the smiley face 🙂

    Oh, and Matthew Sweeney’s coming to YP in (I think) June. And Sharath is coming to London in August 🙂

  2. Pat Says:

    I’ve been feeling icky too which makes morning Mysore a non-starter due to lack of sleep. Take care and I hope you feel better sooner than I will.

  3. globie Says:

    hi Pat,

    Hope you feel better soon.

    I was tired last night, but still didn’t manage to sleep 😦

    Hope tonight is better.

Leave a Reply

