I have still got it :-(

This bloody cold shows no signs of sodding off anytime soon, its been over a week now. After 8 hours at the labour camp, I was aching to stretch. I set out to just stretch my hamstrings and try and keep the poses I find difficult, open a little, so that they are not too much of a shock when I am eventually well again. I am just so tired from lack of sleep, my chest aches from coughing too.

I managed to do the standing poses, spending longer in the Prasaritas to ease out the aching. I thought I’ll carry on until I’m tired, though with only a sporadic vinyasa thrown in here and there during seated. I notice my knee is no better despite not having done much at all in 2 weeks. Extra breaths in Janusirsasana B, my knee doesnt mind that one. Marichyasana was abysmal, didnt bind C for the first time since I don’t know when. Missed out Bhuja and Supta K, my Chest can’t take the compression, spending longer in Baddha Konasana.

Urdva Dhanurasana is where things started to really go downhill, after some bridges I started to exhale and push up, which all became too much for my chest and turned into a spectacular coughing fit, that I couldn’t stop. Inversions and laying flat are no good just now. Once the fit had subsided I decided to try standing dropbacks, which physically seem to take less effort, more about releasing into it than efforting into as with UD. Despite not having practised much in the last 10 days, I still got quite a way down the door, I think this is what my backbends are going to have to consist of for a few days, when I do find the energy to practice.

This is very frustrating and is frankly starting to piss me off. I need my practice, if by a miracle I feel better tomorrow, Moon day or no Moon day I am going to practice.

5 Responses to “I have still got it :-(”

  1. Wayne Says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Cheers!

  2. Alin Says:

    I know it’s frustrating as hell to have to sit out practice. But it will be there when you are healthy again.

    Rest up!

  3. Pat Says:

    I feel for you. My cold has lasted forever too. Try some restorative postures for now: more Balasana?, Viparita Karani? Seated pranayama? Rest yourself…..

  4. susananda Says:

    I’d go for gentle backbends.. cobras, bows.. to clear the chest without the effort of UD. A little coughing after is OK if it’s clearing stuff out of your lungs.

    Hope you feel better soon, it has to pass some time!

  5. globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    I actually got some sleep at last. I can feel stuff shifting off my chest now too.

Leave a Reply

