To Bhujapidasana

Back to a home practice last night, got as far as Bhujapidasana and all of closing. My “Cary homework”, is harder at home than in the shala, each vinyasa I tried to lift and squirm my feet back beyond my hands before jumping back, the only problem with trying this at home is that using a mat on top of a carpet means the mat wrinkles up and I get stuck in a mound of mat. It was a warm evening, I hadn’t realised how warm until doing Marichyasana D, I need shala heat to do that usually, but managed to bind on the first side, not quite on the second.

I just realised that Cary’s next scheduled Sunday (7th June) according to YP’s calender is a pesky Moon day, so am going to have to wait until the 21st for another practice with her, these Sunday Moon days are just so inconvenient, especially when I can only get there at the weekends. At least AYL say the Moon day is on the Monday. I need all the practice I can get with Dena’s weekend workshop coming up in a couple of weeks time.

9 Responses to “To Bhujapidasana”

  1. Wayne Says:

    I’m doing the same thing to work on my jump backs. If nothing else I’m going to be so sick of straightening my mat out each time it should happen quickly!

  2. globie Says:

    We need a personal mat straightener!

  3. Ganesha Says:

    I read your entry about what Cary said and never developing bandhas if you cheat on the jump backs, so I committed myself to doing this also. Next time you see her you can tell her that she’s influencing people in California. I figure I’ll have this mastered in maybe 3-5 years, maybe longer.

  4. globie Says:

    Ironically Cary’s from California originally! I can feel what should happen, its getting the height and the swing momentum, which comes from the Bandhas and not using the arms and shoulders as a pendulum! I can tell you from experience the shoulders don’t like it!

  5. susananda Says:

    It’s about lifting the hips UP as you walk the feet through. Do it without cheating (letting the hands lift), and in two weeks, no more mat wrinkling….

  6. Wayne Says:

    two weeks? ummm……

  7. susananda Says:

    Yes… I don’t mean you’ll be able to lift up and jump back perfectly, I mean if you do every vinyasa without lifting the hands for two weeks, you’ll be able to get the feet through without wrinkling the mat. I could be wrong of course, but I’ve noticed people pick this up very quickly once they start making the effort. My own jumpback is nothing to write home about, but I NEVER let my hands lift!!

  8. susananda Says:

    And Kevin, think of the carpet as resistance training, it will be so easy at the shala! 🙂

  9. globie Says:

    Trouble is I seem to start running out of energy quicker, especially after the Marichyasanas. My left hand has a mind of its own, I don’t realise its lifting as I’m too involved in manoevering the feet.

    All my postures seem to be better at the shala, having a firmer surface underfoot and hands and a mat that stays put. I really notice it in Urdva Dhanurasana, its much more stable than at home.

Leave a Reply

