Slightly better

TGIF, its been a long week of tedium at the Labour camp. If ever there’s a weekend when I need my practice, this is one of them. Alas Sunday is Moon day and the Shala is closed, I will just have to follow Louise’s instructions and have a lie in.

Straight onto my mat when I got in the door, via a mug of tea and one of my mothers home made wheat free cup cakes, well I need some energy for practice don’t I! All of standing, a few forward bends, then I just had this feeling of wanting to try Pasasana ( I remembered watching Susan doing it a couple of weeks ago), so I did, I could touch my fingers, then Krounchasana with a block for a nice hamstring stretch, followed by Salbhasana, Ustrasana, Laghu Vajrasana etc and 4 x Urdva Dhanurasana. Much better backbends than yesterday’s, though it still feels like something in my lower back needs to click back to being flexible, rather than rigid. Anyway an hour’s practice doing what I felt like, rather than follow the script.

Must finish off preparations for tomorrow afternoon’s travel club meeting in the capital, we have a guy coming to talk who went round the world staying carbon neutral. In the morning its “me time” practice at TLC with Michaela, am I glad TLC don’t seem to worry about the traditional ashtanga Saturday day off or Moon days.

Have a nice weekend everyone

4 Responses to “Slightly better”

  1. arturo Says:

    hi Kevin
    did the carbon neutral traveler go by sailboat and bicycling through large countries?
    cheers,
    Arturo

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Arturo, the guy was trying to go RTW in “80 ways”, but realised he would have to spend a lot of time on animals! He ended up using cargo ships, trains and buses. He’s a campaigner who began by saying that its the 25% of people who fly more than twice a year who are the problem, he suspected that those 25% were in the room!

  3. arturo Says:

    hi Kevin
    that is interesting. most people don’t know that it is possible to travel onboard cargo ships. there are a limited number of rooms, but they are there. maybe they’ll invent a different fuel for jet airplanes in the future. for now we don’t have the technology and some jobs require travel more than twice a year.
    cheers,
    Arturo

  4. globie Says:

    Its not so much the long haul flights, he said its the short haul ones that dump the most CO2 and that we should look for other means. Hardly anyone flies to Paris from London now, most people go on the train. Its ironic that because of the low cost airlines in the UK a lot of the time its cheaper to fly than go by train which is stupid.

    I havnt flown since Christmas, but I ‘ll be making up for it late in the year!

Leave a Reply

