Sensible yoga goals

After that good Shala practice on Sunday I expected last nights practice to kind of just happen, a kind of extension of what had gone before, but as we now know it didn’t materialise, falling apart half way through seated, finishing with crap non backbending.

I  really wanted some bendyness back in my back tonight, so rather than just get on my mat and do practice for 75 minutes, I decided to do standing then a mixture, beginning with the stuff we did at Kino’s backbend workshop and then the second series asanas I know (the ones Mel taught me in India, but am too chicken to attempt at a shala anytime soon).

Having a definite plan about what shape practice would take made the whole experience better, more focus, mind on the mat, breath and bandhas. I was thinking about the poses as I did them, I had always thought of Krounchasana as a hamstring stretch, but this evening I realised that the front thigh of the bent leg was actually being stretched as well. 

The thigh stretches seem to help backbends, Urdva Dhanurasana this evening was quite strong and stable, which gave me hope going into the dropback experiments. Hanging back and trying to stay there, pushing up the pelvis to take away the pinch, is a whole new feeling. All these months of dropping (leaning) back and coming back up have been good for taking away the fear and the feelings of nausea that accompanied it, but I know I need to build the strength and control, which the hangback seems to be doing. The floor is getting to be a more realistic target.

Handstands are taking shape, about 1 in 4 now I can bunny hop to a balance without touching off the wall.

So the moral of the story is to have a realistic plan for the time available and go for it.

3 Responses to “Sensible yoga goals”

  1. Kai Says:

    Your handstands sound great! I’m working on the same thing. I seem to fare better if I focus less on the hop and more on ‘pushing the floor away from me’ with my hands to bring my legs up.

  2. Drew Clement Says:

    I love reading and finding posts like this. I do not think enough people talk about sensible goals when it comes to yoga.

    I pesonally know of a lot of people that want to bend and twist their bodies and pull of handstands within a week. It takes time and it is beacuse of that mindframe that many people end up quitting.

    Set realistic goals, take baby steps and get in touch with your body and mind. Then the progress will come.

    Keep up the good articles.

  3. globie Says:

    Hi Kai,

    I think its suddenly happening is because I have discovered the Udiyana brake as well as pushing my arms straight. Though hopping evenly off both feet seems to make it more controlled.

    Drew, glad you liked it

Leave a Reply

