Believing-giving the dream a voice

In the week since my Birthday I have read a blog comment and talked to someone about making our dreams into reality, I read the following comment on Susan’s blog the other day;

Helen said…  “Regarding the deep shifts, it’s amazing how sometimes life changes to make dreams possible once we fully acknowledge and imagine them to be a possibility.”

Yesterday talking to Michaela about how she came to be writing a book was another example of someone who had an idea, a dream, which once she realised how much she wanted it to be a reality found that life moved to make it possible.

I have had the feeling of life just passing me by for a long time now, always waiting for something better to make it worth opening my eyes in the morning, the feeling of just getting through each day, then another day dawns and its no better, same s**t different day, a feeling of time running out. After practice yesterday, for the first time I voiced my dream, my still embryonic dream of going to Mysore for a few months, to someone outside of the yoga community, to someone who doesn’t realise the significance or meaning of going to do practice in Mysore. Will putting a voice to my dream make it come to fruition, will acknowledging it to someone outside of the circle force changes in my life to occur to make it happen, I don’t know. She said I hope it works out.

13 Responses to “Believing-giving the dream a voice”

  1. openingslowly Says:

    I have total faith 🙂 To be honest you have sounded like you want to for ages, you just need the prompt and you will fly in a way you never imagined.

    I had a really great conversation about this with a buddist taxi driver about a year ago, the only person setting limits is you was the essential drift…. As we went past the house of commons, the only thing stopping you being there is belief, if you believe it will happen.

  2. openingslowly Says:

    Not that I am saying be an MP you understand, just believe the dream 🙂

  3. Globie Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    You are right, or your taxi driver was, we erect our own barriers, then have to break them down. From being an idea, of something that would be nice to do, its moved on to being something I really want to do, I believe its now possible, though there are still obstacles, though some of these are about taking that final leap of faith.

    If I was an MP I could put it on expenses! 🙂

  4. Gumbomum Says:

    Saying it out loud is the first step and an incredibly important one! I have no doubt things will start to take shape!

  5. susananda Says:

    I’m going to Mysore one day.
    There!
    Maybe we’ll be there together 🙂

  6. globie Says:

    Susan it would be great to have a buddy in Mysore, see you there.

  7. AC Says:

    There’ll always be obstacles on our path but we just cross them one day at a time.

    You’ll get to Mysore sooner rather than later!

  8. AC Says:

    Hey, who knows I may join you and Susan at the coconut stand, 😉

    Mysore here we come?

  9. globie Says:

    Now that would be fun, bring it on 🙂

  10. openingslowly Says:

    wowie! I want in on the party too! maybe I should be planning my second trip….

  11. globie Says:

    The more the merrier, get that 2nd trip planned. At this rate we could hire a private jet!

  12. Helen Says:

    Nice one, made up for you. I think writing this blog post made it more real too. I for one will be watching and wondering when you will take that final leap. It can be easy to get caught up with the day to day stuff. Remind yourself of your dreams often and take steps toward them in whatever way is possible. I know of someone who saves for mysore by putting money aside every time she self practices at home, i.e. the money saved from going to class.

  13. Globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    It certainly feels less of a pipe dream now and more like something I can do.Its the thought of practice at the Shala and the Mysore dream that gets me through the day to day stuff.

    The hardest part will be telling my nearest and dearest, as I have long given up the struggle to explain to them why I get up at 5am on the weekend to spend 2 sweaty hours on a 6ft mat, let alone why I would want to spend a long period in India doing it.

    I like that idea of saving from doing home self practice.

Leave a Reply

