Birth of Dropback Noosa

Finally 9 months and 14 days after Cat told me it was time to start learning dropbacks, on the lovely soft sandy beach at Noosa in Queensland, I managed it on my own, dropback Noosa was born.

Well it took a couple of attempts where I landed head first on the sand, I would be typing with concussion if I hadn’t made a sandy landing pillow, but on the third go I saw the ground, put my arms out and to my amazement landed without my head hitting the ground first. I had to resist the urge to “yahooooo”, as up the beach I think a couple were getting married! I tried a few more with varying degrees of success, I worked out that the ones that worked best seemed to be where I could see more sand before sending my arms over head, where as the ones when I kind of went for it, I think my hands were landing too far away allowing my head to land first. I ended up with a head full of sand, but OMG the joy of doing that on my own. Doing it in a shala environment with teachers like Dena,  Cary, Susan and Michaela watching will be something else. I plan to try it each day now, finding a quiet spot on the beach and playing. Next week of course its Dena’s Shala at Byron, that should be fun.

I walked off the beach dripping sand, but couldn’t resist the urge to tell someone, cue text to Susan and AC, sorry of I woke you up! Susan replied telling me she was going to tell Cary and then later telling me Cary said I had to learn to stand up now and tomorrow do it with straight arms so I don’t end up with a head full of sand!

I hope this wasnt a fluke and that it is the start of the future, its definitley a confidence thing, but knowing a teacher wasn’t going to come to the rescue makes it a different ball game

11 Responses to “Birth of Dropback Noosa”

  1. AC Says:

    Misplaced my mobile so got the msg rather late in the morning.

    The ‘baby’ was a bit late but it finally arrived – congratulations!!

  2. Ursula Says:

    Congratulations. Now you know how it is. Awwwwsommmme.

  3. Helen Says:

    Nice one, great place for safe exploration. Have fun.

  4. gumbomum Says:

    Awesome!!! sounds like FUN!

  5. Grimmly Says:

    Excellent news! And on a beach in Oz too, if you could choose a place to nail it first time……

  6. Wayne Says:

    Well done Kevin!

  7. susananda Says:

    So good!! Glad you texted, made me happy on the way to practice. For the record I didn’t tell Cary about the sand-head, so the straight arms thing was my comment! But she was not surprised at all. She said you have a very good backbend 🙂

  8. susananda Says:

    Oh PS, my wandering drishti allowed me to see her use the ‘push down on hips and make you resist in order to stand up’ technique on AC!

  9. Globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    Glad it made you as happy as it did me. My dropback backbend actually feels a much deeper bend than doing Urdva Dhanurasana off the ground.

    Good to hear that AC is getting the “treatment” as well!

  10. arturo Says:

    hi Kevin
    hehe. maybe all i need is to fall back on the sand at the beach when i visit the family in Puerto Rico this Xmas. or simply fall to the floor in my apartment and not worry about a concussion. hehe. congratulations.
    cheers,
    Arturo

  11. susananda Says:

    Hey Kevin, I prefer dropbacks to doing it from the ground by a mile.

    Arturo – take the sand option please : )

    Oh, the other thing Cary said was that she learned them on the beach too. California girl!

Leave a Reply

