Dusty day!

The Shala

The Shala

Here is the Shala in the early morning sunlight. Another long practice today, which felt like hard going, though Yumiko, Dena’s assistant said after, that my body was more open today, strange how we perceive our own body’s and how others do. I suppose it again comes down to expectations of practice, I did Marichyasana D on my own and was adjusted in Supta K. Dena always leads the standing sequence, so I havnt had a UHP adjustment and I was left alone for most of today. Dena doesnt let me use the wall to practice dropping back, she said she would give me a sponge of she found my finger prints on her nice yellow wall! I actually forgot headstand, then realised as I was about to do Savasana, so went back and finished practice properly, before a nice long Savasana.
Under tree yogini!

Under tree yogini!

In the garden I found a nice touch under a tree, a little yogini, I think Dena’s little girl probably put it there.
After practice and breakfast I headed to Suffolk Park for my massage with Flo, a student of Dena’s, I knew she would know which bits would need working on, we talked about how intense it can be to do Shala practice with a teacher like Dena compared to practice at home, you do try harder, push that bit more, extend a little further and after 4 days its beginning to show, especially in my left shoulder which took a lot of work, Flo’s pointy elbow getting to the root of the problem and loosening me up. She also worked on that niggling Sciatic thing. A really good massage, I can certainly recommend Flo, for when the yoga takes its toll.
Dust wipes out the sun

Dust wipes out the sun

We may have had sun at 7am for yoga, but at 10.30 this morning I looked out and it was dark, no sun, looked like rain, but nope, it was in fact a dust storm that had come up from Sydney, the sun was blotted out, the street lights came on, even the Lighthouse started up, though you could hardly make it out. A girl came to ask me if the circular ball in the sky was the Moon, I could see why she thought it, but it was in fact the sun, you could look full into the sun, it was incredible. I sat with lots of others on the rocks looking out to see as the sun disappeared altogether and twilight arrived, there was a guy playing a drum, a girl twirled in dance on the rocks below, the hues and colours on the sand and waves, I’m afraid the picture just doesn’t do it justice, but its a sight I wont forget in a hurry. I just hope and pray that it clears overnight so that I can see the Whales tomorrow, I really really really want to see the Whales.
8 Responses to “Dusty day!”

  1. Pat Says:

    Wow, amazing pictures. Glad you had a good massage. Those are such a treat. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you and the whales!

  2. susananda Says:

    We got pictures here… a red red dust cloud almost completely obscuring Sydney Opera House. Looks like fire, at least it’s not.

  3. susie Says:

    Hey Globie
    I live near Brisbane and work at the uni in Brisbane. If you’re coming back through here and would like to meet up, or go to the shala I go to, let me know!

    We had the dust here too, but nothing like as spectacular as Sydney. Not pleasant though …

  4. openingslowly Says:

    best whale wishes for tomorrow, keeping my fingers and toes crossed. 🙂

  5. globie Says:

    Hi Susie,

    I am in Brisbane for a few hours on Friday.

    I saw the Whales, yahoo

  6. susie Says:

    So glad you got to see the whales … 🙂 Sorry I can’t make it today with other commitments. Maybe we can meet up next time you come over 🙂 Or in London – that’s where you come from isn’t it? I’ll be there next September and usually go to Hamish’s a bit.

    🙂

  7. Globie Says:

    Hi Susie,

    Never mind, if you are in London get in touch, come practice with us at YP or Hamish’s.

  8. Ursula Says:

    That’s a great picture. Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

