Shaking

8 hours today spent in front of a screen was about 7 too many as far as my tired eyes are concerned and here I am again. Got home just after 4pm, straight on my mat, aching to undo a my knotted back and hip. Standing felt ok, though it took extra breaths to bring the hamstrings comfort in the Downdogs and Padahastasana, but by the Prasaritas I had some length, but it was a slow practice, though at least I was focused.

I started the seated postures and realised in Paschimottanasana that I was shaking, not the kind of leg or arm muscle shake when doing an asana, but my body shaking in a forward bend, WTF is that all about. Thinking about it I have practised every day since last Friday, even if some of the practices have been crap, was this my body’s way of saying “how about a day off?”. I am also beginning to wonder if I am eating enough during the day, whether in fact I had run out of energy. The yoga and food and when to eat dilemna rearing its ugly head again. I’d had Toast and Muesli at 7am and a sandwich and slice of flapjack at 1pm for lunch, not much I suppose to survive a day at the Labour Camp and then come home and do 75 minutes of practice. Since having to be wheat free I don’t snack during the day as I used to, no Hobnobs, no Kitkats, not even any chocolate.

Me being me instead of stopping I ploughed on into closing, doing a few Ustrasanas, then Urdva Dhanurasana, which were fairly good surprisingly, though I still shook. Even tried a few careful dropbacks, nearer the door than yesterday. Despite the seeming energy deficit my dropbacks felt like I had control for longer and I can certainly hang for longer before having to make the come up or go for the door decision.

Time for a rest. Optician tomorrow, see how much damage staring at a screen all day is doing to me.

2 Responses to “Shaking”

  1. Pat Says:

    Maybe you could have a boiled egg and/or banana in the late afternoon to keep you going? When I practice early in the morning, I usually have a few walnuts before I leave the house. I didn’t Friday and did feel a bit weaker than normal during practice. Just a thought.

  2. globie Says:

    I followed Seane Corn’s advice and had some orange juice this morning. I am going to have to think about the late afternoon practices, some Muesli bars or something with my 3pm tea should do it.

Leave a Reply

