I asked, It is in the mind.

The easiest Sunday of the year to get up for practice with getting that extra hour under the covers, though some people forgot, like a woman at Whitechapel station yelling why her train wasn’t listed, you should have seen the look on her face when the guy reminded her about the clocks!

An unexpectedly good practice this morning, standing were solid, my hamstrings came out to play and it was soon time for seated, though not before Cary gave me the most incredibly challenging adjustment in Prasarita Padot C I have ever experienced. I had also suddenly realised as I did Parivrita Trikonasana and the sun came out, that I had that sense of happiness, of being where I wanted to be, doing what I wanted to do. (Not an experience I am ever likely have Monday to Friday!)

Cary seems to have a bee in her Bonnet now about the alignment of my feet, particularly in poses like Triang Mukha and the Janusirsasanas, plus now that I can mostly manage to bind these beyond my feet, that my hands be much lower down. I just don’t have the control over my feet that she is now expecting, ball of the foot forward, toes coming back, I can do one or the other, but not both at the same time. Managed to bind all of the Marichyasanas on my own and Supta K, I liked being left alone to wriggle my own way in to all these poses, its almost like if I’m adjusted into them its too easy.

I seemed to have quite a fast practice today, 75 minutes to closing, which was good because it meant there was time for backbend experimentation after 3 walk in Urdva Dhanurasanas, off to the wall for all the usual stuff before returning to my place for assisted dropbacks. First couple to the floor were iffy, but the ones after the half way cross arm dropbacks suddenly felt like they had more structure and control, exhaling to my safe limit, inhale again, then exhale to the floor, then walking the UD in and pushing up, but breathing these days and not sounding like I am giving birth.

Afterwards I asked her why I could do a dropback on my own on the beach, yet now it feels miles away. She told me that I am not actually that far away from landing and she has seen quite an improvement, even if I don’t feel like I have moved on. BUT she said my mind is half the problem, in a mentally safe place like the sandy beach it was easier to relax and trust, its the transition to doing it on solid ground that needs to be broached, she said once I do it for the first time the whole mentality of the posture will change. I can’t wait for the day!

12 Responses to “I asked, It is in the mind.”

  1. V Says:

    Just. Do. It.

    🙂

  2. Grimmly Says:

    If she’d said that to Karen she’d be making a giant sand box with dunes and everything in her living room that very evening. you just know it’ll creep up on you again when you least expect it, one day it’ll just feel right again and back you’ll go.

  3. Globie Says:

    Easier said than done V.

    Grimmly, I think its coming down to how far back I can go with control and trusting the anatomy to keep me safe, I did feel like I was getting further today beofre she intervened. Am sure it will happen again.

  4. Pat Says:

    Your pratice really has come so, so far since I started following your blog. It truly is only a matter of time…..

  5. globie Says:

    Hi Pat,
    You are right my practice has changed a lot, though it has brought expectations that I never even contemplated having back then (Supta K, Proper Mari D, Dropbacks), this makes it much harder to be happy with where my practice currently is. The catalyst has been finding Cary, just her telling me today that she sees changes happening and saying backdrop is not far away makes me want to get back on the mat and keep practising. I think without her my practice may have stagnated to a stop by now.

  6. susananda Says:

    Sounds like a nice practice. Annoyed with myself for not being there!!

    Cary was doing exactly the same to my feet in forward bends last week. She does get a bee in her bonnet about certain things from one week to the next and then go after everyone on it (sometimes she tells me during my assisting period and then I can chip in). Never any slacking with her!

    I know exactly what you mean, when she tells you you can do something, it’s not far away… I remember her telling me I could go up in karandavasana and me looking at her straight in her huge limpid eyes and going, ‘REALLY?’, realising I’d never believed it was possible before and that something was sinking in. A few months later it happened 🙂

    See you next Sunday!

  7. Globie Says:

    Definitley no slacking, but I’m pleased to hear its not just me who has unruly feet!

    Her telling you that you are not far away gives you a belief that wasn’t there, I was getting frustrated with not doing it, it does seem to be more in the mind and trusting.

    Hopefully see you next Sunday, who is teaching, its Eunice’s Sunday?

  8. susananda Says:

    I’m not sure, probably Cary. Did you know Eunice is leaving? This is her last week. She’s going to apprentice with another teacher whose name escapes me at the moment…

  9. karen Says:

    Oh, I’m so looking forward to meeting Cary when I’m there to visit!

    (Haha, Grimmly. I actually have a gymnastics wedge instead of a dune in the house. But I guess you weren’t that far off…)

  10. globie Says:

    OK so where an I get hold of a wedge?

  11. donutszenmom Says:

    I got mine through Amazon:

    http://www.amazon.com/Learning-Form-Incline-15-33/dp/B0000E2ENZ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=sporting-goods&qid=1256575185&sr=1-1

  12. Globie Says:

    Thanks Karen, never even occured to me that amazon would do that kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

