Your ITB is solid!

Cristina came out with that statement after she had spent 40 painful minutes heating up, frictioning out and manipulating my left shoulder, Piriformis and SI. The spiky massage ball I have been using has been doing some good, she said the Piriformis problem was now much more localised, though she still got my lower leg twitching and me wincing in pain while trying to stay quiet, as she added more and more pressure with her thumbs and then her pointy elbow. Relief comes from the lovely hot stones she uses, its a beautiful sensation as the muscles relax and accept the heat.

I seem to have a band of tension going down the left side of the back of my body from below the shoulders through my back into my SI and Piriformis, which now apparently extends into the Ilio Tibial Band (ITB), via the left hamstring which has tightened up considerably over the last couple of weeks. I have learned so much about anatomy, from yoga and the niggling injuries over the last few years, Piriformis, SI, QL, until tonight I didn’t know I had an ITB let alone know where it is, but she said mine is so hard I should have something done, but alas my time was up and she had another Patient waiting, though she pressed her thumbs into the ITB to demonstrate its rigidity and explained thats the reason the Hamstring has got so tight.

Where would I be without this brilliant therapist who does ashtanga and understands what we put our body’s through, she has given me a twisting exercise to do to help the Piriformis stretch out, though as someone used to twisting deeply I have to go quite a way before it kicks in. She has given me instructions TO DRINK MORE WATER, she made me drink a big glass before she let me out, do the twisting stretch, keep using the massage ball especialy after practice and the next appointment to remind her about the ITB. I always leave her room feeling so much better, despite the level of discomfort involved in the treatment.

I wonder if I can get another appointment before I go to Singapore.

8 Responses to “Your ITB is solid!”

  1. susananda Says:

    Wow she sounds great. Think I’ll go back to my new lady before I go away. She does hot stones too!

    For the ITB… have you ever seen those cylindrical foam roller things they have in gyms sometimes? You lie on your side over it and roll up and down the ITB.

  2. KMB Says:

    Hi Globie – you are so lucky, she sounds wonderful! I often feel silly explaining ashtanga movements to a physio or massage therapist…where did you find your massage ball? Do you find it helps? I use a tennis ball sometimes and it can be kind of excruciating in the piriformis/glute med area. Although if yours has spikes it probably hurts even more!

  3. Globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    Not quite sure what you mean about the Roller. The hot stones are aaaaahhhh.

    Hi Katie,

    Yep Cristina is great, I met her at an ashtanga class in the local Town Hall. Massage ball is slightly smaller than a tennis ball, with its little spikes it means you are more likely to hit the spot, its almost as painful as Cristina’s thumbs, but just keep breathing and eventually you feel that gloop gloop as things undo.

  4. daydreamingmel Says:

    The osteo I was seeing last month had “done ashtanga” in the past and had some understanding, though I think the unspoken thing was perhaps a lot of negativity about it too, so as everyone else says, you’re lucky Kevin! Mine suggested that I abstain from ashtanga for a while but do lots of stretching – or as she put it “normal yoga” – I wanted to say but for me, that’s ashtanga!!

  5. Globie Says:

    Hi Mel,

    Yes I was lucky to find Cristina, she never says abstain from practice, just to be more mindful when I get to postures that put pressure on the points where I have a problem. Cristina was also the one who originally worked out my IBS was caused by wheat a couple of years ago, that girl has been so good for my health in so many ways.

  6. susananda Says:

    http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/flexibilityandstretching/ss/FoamRoller.htm

    There’s the roller (sorry forget how to make the link, you’ll have to cut and paste)

    Have never had the hot stones, but you make it sound very tempting!

  7. Pat Says:

    I’m with Susan on the foam roller. They are brilliant, but as with all these things, can get quite intense when used properly. I bought one but stupidly clicked on the half roller instead of the full round one. But they do work (mine now has a rubber band on it – not the best but oh well) on the ITB. I’ve had trouble with it forever and it is extremely hard to stretch. But better range of motion is not always going to help. I’m living proof that one can have great range of motion and have muscles that are tight as a drum. I just spent time in the Turkish bath we have in my town. Wonderful! I can see why they got popular in this part of the country! So nice to relax in a hot environment…..

    Glad to hear you’re getting yourself tuned up before your trip.

  8. Globie Says:

    Thanks Susan, the roller is quite big, I’ll have to find somewhere that’s got one I can have a go on. Cristina always uses the hot stones as part of her treatments, which can get a bit intense, the hot stones feel so nice after her thumbs have done the biz.

    Hi Pat, I presume you mean your roller has a flat bottom?? I hadn’t appreciated the ITB even existed until Cristina showed me how tight it was and how it was probably the cause of my hamstring getting tight. 4 weeks to Singapore, heat, sunshine, yoga.

Leave a Reply

