Be careful what you wish for

In last nights blog I wrote that I hoped we would get enough snow for the car park snowball fight. Well its been snowing most of the morning, a thin slippy layer on the ground, though not enough for a snowball, but it was enough for my 67 year old Mom to slip over and break her kneecap. She is now in plaster for the next 6 weeks. WHY she had to go outside on a day like this I really don’t know!

6 Responses to “Be careful what you wish for”

  1. Maria Says:

    oh no!!! the poor thing 😦
    I know this going to sound totally “old wives” but my mom broke her knee about 11 years ago (she was 49 at the time so i know its not exactly the same) but she took “knit bone” (Comfrey) in like a capsule format and she swears it really helped everything to heal.
    Oh and so close to christmas too! What a pain!! up quickly
    Hope she gets well soon!

  2. Globie Says:

    Hi Maria,

    Someone suggested knitbone when I stress fractured my foot last year, but I couldn’t find anywhere selling it.

    Think my Sis will end up doing the Christmas dinner now!

  3. Maria Says:

    I’ll ask my mom wheer she got it – could have been the homeopath

  4. susananda Says:

    Broken kneecap sounds painful! How is the patient doing now?

    Pretty icy over here too, I’ve nearly taken a couple of tumbles myself.

  5. globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    The Patient has 2 fractures of kneecap and they found hairline crack in Tibia when she went to Fracture clinic yesterday. They are worried the crack could turn into a larger split, so she is not allowed to put any weight on it for at least 6 weeks. They did at least put a lighter cast on, typical NHS gave her a pair of crutches but no advice on using them.

    We had loads of snow last night, its chaos out here because we are quite high up, no idea if I will get to AYL on Sunday.

    I’m sure you will manage to keep your balance

  6. susananda Says:

    Can’t believe you have more snow than us! Not fair!!

Leave a Reply

