Oasis

Another jet lagged nights sleep, I gave up at 6am and made tea. MRT ride to Little India, somehow I managed to ended up being 45 minutes early at the Shala, so I stopped by an Indian cafe place for a cup of sweet chai. Oasis is on the ground floor of a big red block, next to busy Selengi Road, but an oasis of calm once you go through the glass door. It was great to meet Denise at last, very welcoming, telling me where the room would be hot or cooler, not that there seems to be much difference to me, its just nice to be warm, I was a little worried when she turned 3 fans on, but it turned into a hot sweaty practice.

Apart from the lack of sleep I have felt a little bit “off”, nothing major, just not quite right, so I took it really slowly, even so I was dripping after a few Surya’s, my hamstrings appreciated the heat at least, head to knee is returning. Some teachers leave you to it first time out, to see where you are etc, but I am glad to say Denise is hands on, lots of nice adjustments. Denise is a teacher you immediately trust, her adjustments feel relatively gentle, but they are very positive, she goes with the body when it finds somewhere further to go, encouraging it to open. Lots of help in standing, Trikonasanas, PPC, though left alone in UHP.

Seated were far better than I expected, not having done a proper practice in nearly a week, but the humid heat is certainly a great help, adjusted in Triang Mukha, Janu A and Mari A & C, before to my amazement binding myself on both sides of Marichyasana D, I never thought that would happen after a week off. My “Off” feeling manifests itself in a stomach nausea, I havn’t been sick, but as I got further into practice and got more tired it started to come on, though not before a wonderful Supta K, if there is one pose a hot sweaty room is good for it’s that one, Denise let me get in fully on my own, before a litle adjustment to make my hands more secure then lifted me up, before I vinyasad out.

Closing was a bit hit and miss, I did my 3 x Urdva Dhanurasanas, but they felt weak, as did I, my back was not bendy, despite all that had gone before, my stomach muscles weren’t taking part at all, so I abandoned dropbacks today, I just knew I wouldn’t be able to exert any control. When I looked at the clock after Savasana, I found that I hadn’t actually been as slow as I felt. Today was about re-opening my body to practice after a week off, but it was a wonderful environment to do it in and Denise is a wonderful teacher. I get to practice with her twice more while I am here. She also told me that 4 of the people in the Shala are doing Kino’s retreat with Susan and me in Thailand.

After practice and breakfast, back to base for a shower and to wash my yoga togs, which I then left on my balcony to steam dry while I went to visit the Chinese Gardens. The gardens are nice, a big Pagoda dominates, but my favourite part was the Bonsai area, lots of the beautiful miniature trees, some over 100 years old. I spent an hour taking photos before the big black clouds arrived, followed by a windy thunderstorm, oh dear my washing could be wet or blown away to who knows where.

Tomorrow its the other end of the yoga shala scale as I try out Celeste’s mysore class at Pure, very corporate. I just hope I can find the elevator up to the 18th floor.

3 Responses to “Oasis”

  1. susananda Says:

    Sounds great…. my practice didn’t exist this week…. I can’t wait to get back to a shala!!!

    Warm weather sounds good too, roll on Thailand : )

  2. Skippetty Says:

    YAY! So glad you went and enjoyed her adjustments. She’s a very intuitive adjuster. 🙂 Good that you didn’t keel over and faint from the heat too! Every time I’m home, I’m already dripping wet by the first samasthiti. The 97% humidity is what gets me every time. Like walking in to a wall of wetness. Pure’s airconditioned, which makes for a less sweaty practice (but harder to build internal heat). Can’t wait to hear about it!

  3. globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    Its so nice to be warm, you dont even wake up as stiff as you do in cold Europe.

    Hey Skippetty,
    Yep Denise is good, I didn’t keel over with the heat, though there were a few beads of sweat appearing even thinking about practising! Its so nice to practice in the humidity,everything is a lot more open

Leave a Reply

