Not as Pure

I actually got a bit more sleep last night, though it’s a pity I was well away when the alarm went off to tell me it was time to get up and go to practice. Practice was back at Pure with Celeste today, though for some reason, despite Celeste being a wonderful teacher, I just don’t seem to be able to have such a good practice as I have at the mini Sauna that is Oasis. I was doing my sun salutations thinking that Celeste wasn’t in the room, then realised she was on the mat behind me, having just finished her own practice and had obviously been observing me. Not having my glasses on in a yoga room with little light, makes me nearly blind, I’m hopeless, though it does stop me looking round the room.

Practice was a bit of a slog today, little energy, I stepped back, instead of jumping on all the Surya’s and my hamstrings had tightened up with all the walking yesterday. Not much adjustment in standing, apart from the usual PPC and a comment to look at my toe until I have grabbed it in the Trikonasans to stop me wobbling.

I did manage to bind Mari D today on both sides again, though my right knee is winging as I type, I need the deep humid heat of Oasis to nail this one, though once I had bound Celeste took me into a much deeper twist. She had me do Bhuja 3 times! She saw me collapse backwards on my first attempt, I was all for just moving on, but oh no, I got to do it twice more, lifting, half Titi, then into Bakasana, she laughingly said its need refinement! Supta K took 2 goes until I was under enough to bind, the lift out wiped me out, it was one of those days. Nice squish in Baddha Konasana. I tried a new tactic today, I snook in one Pure’s big white towels to try and get some traction in the backbends, my black mat was a lake by this stage, but even with the towel Urdva Dhanurasana was crap, I did my 3 just about. The locals don’t seem to have as many problems, are they born with suction pads on their hands and feet or something?

I had a loooooooong Savasana, no rush to go anywhere today, amazed to find I had taken over 2 and a half hours, no wonder I was knackered. After a shower, Pure do have wonderful showers, I went back to the Reception area where I was offered tea as I admired the bronze yoga model which someone had added a red Santa hat to! Its a nice touch that they go and make a few cups of tea and give them to whoever is around. But not a great practice, the best one has been  the other evening.

When I checked my e-mail I found one from Denise saying there is a 4pm practice at Oasis on New Years eve, so I will have a lay in tomorrow, rather than getting up when its still dark to go to Pure, have a lazyish day, then practice in the sweaty heat of a more traditional shala.

I went to the Botanical Gardens later, good job they have name badges on everything, they are all big green weeds to me, I know absolutley zero about horticulture, though the Orchid gardens were pretty. I am waiting for the daily downpour, which looks imminent, hiding in an internet place in Little India, then its off to the Night Safari, everyone has said I shouldn’t miss it while I am here.

2 Responses to “Not as Pure”

  1. Helen Says:

    Sounds like your having a great time. I know your having a hard time with the slipping but I would love some of that heat!

  2. Kevin Says:

    Hi Helen,

    My Mum was saying its still a tad chilly back home. Am planning to swipe one of the big hotel bath towels later and see if practice is better tonight.

Leave a Reply

