Still practising

Home practice has been happening, though it’s content has been a bit sporadic. Monday I took it easy after the double Shala weekend, just doing some standing and backbends. Tuesday I got back with the programme, a proper Primary series + backbends, dropbacks etc. Wednesday I decided to do standing and some second series, mainly because I thought I could fit that in, rather than trying to do another full primary and then end up being disappointed when I didn’t finish it.

Last night I did a half Primary, then lots of backbends, though my dropbacks are becoming more consistent, ie not quite so much danger of giving myself concussion, I am still no nearer feeling like I will stand up anytime soon. I keep trying to push off, but the gravity that got me to the floor is not reversable it seems.

Practice at TLC on Saturday I hope, they cancelled Friday’s Mysore practice for some reason, I don’t want to get up there and find its cancelled, that would be annoying. The other mission on Saturday is to find some more of those delicious Werthers chocolates that Mel kindly gave me last weekend and to try and make them last longer than Monday night, though with a Sunday moon day in front of the TV watching the football I don’t rate their chances of survival!

6 Responses to “Still practising”

  1. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin, great to hear your no longer head banging! If you try and push off the floor you’ll never get up, gravity won’t let you. Keep hips up and forward, you need to use the backbend to help you shift the weight. Coming up requires a deep backbend. Ask G about it tomorrow.

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    I have been trying to walk in a little once I land to transfer more of the weight over my feet, but it feels like too much weight going the wrong way still. Where does the initial lift come from?

    I will ask G about it tomorrow, she should have time if there’s only 4 or 5 people there again like last week.

  3. Helen Says:

    The initial lift comes from the shift in weight, there is no push, I don’t think. Am about to practice so will check.

  4. Helen Says:

    yep definitely no pushing with the hands. Just keep at it the back will open….

  5. globie Says:

    I tried to push up more into the hips and walk hands in, I could feel a slight weight transfer, but not enough to think about coming up. In Grimmly’s video you sent me he seems to land about the same distance as I do from his feet, but his arms are very straight and his hips are higher. I think my hips collapse a bit when I land.

  6. Helen Says:

    Yeah the back probably needs to open more, sounds like your well on the way though. Hope you had a good practice this morning.

Leave a Reply

