Full Primary on a Monday!

Having a Sunday off practice and the travelling into the city meant I had the energy to do a full Primary on a Monday evening, it’s a very long time since that has happened. Once into the rythm I found I had done standing and seated in 70 minutes again and then felt warm enough to do backbends. Reasonable Urdva Dhanurasana followed by a couple of dropbacks.

I am realising that my shala dropbacks are better because my mat stays put, having a mat on top of my carpet at home means as my feet go outwards as I go back, I have to try and land before the sliding feet lose the plot. I then try to push back up into  my hips, but my feet slide forwards increasing the length between my hands and feet, making coming up attempts all but impossible.

I didn’t finish practice until around 9.30pm, the backbends wake me up, activate my mind and then make getting off to sleep a problem. My mind isn’t thinking about anything specific, its just active and my body is alive, so I have taken to listening to a Kino podcast for 30 minutes or so, I know its not the point, but the meditation one helps me find the drowsiness I need to drop off!

I see there is another hoop to jump through for people wanting to go to India to do yoga, there is now a “Yoga Visa” which you must have to be able to do practice in Mysore, the KPJAYI website states;

From March 2010, all students coming to study at KPJAYI must enter India on a yoga visa, as required by Indian law. You may email shala@kpjayi.org for admission letters from our Institute to include with your visa application form to the Indian Embassy in your country. Upon arrival, students should follow the relevant registration formalities with the Foreigners Registration Office (FRO) in Mysore.

Does this mean that someone visiting India from March cannot just go and do yoga if the mood takes them, if they have entered on a tourist visa?

Big day on Wednesday I have a you know what, at a place some of you know where and said I should go for a month or so ago.

12 Responses to “Full Primary on a Monday!”

  1. susananda Says:

    Good luck with the you know what 🙂

  2. Globie Says:

    Thanks Susan,

    I have no hopes or expectations, I’ll just see what happens and I get an added bonus of Shala practice at AYL on the way home, even if it comes to nothing.

  3. Kai Says:

    I hope things go well with the you-know-what at the you-know-where and it all results in good-news-that-cannot-yet-be-named. 😉

  4. Helen Says:

    Ooooh good luck with that

  5. globie Says:

    Thanks Helen,

    Croissants all round on Sunday if it comes to anything

  6. daydreamingmel Says:

    what are you saying Kevin, croissants all round on sunday whatever happens!! but fingers crossed of course…

  7. Helen Says:

    Yes Mel’s right we should celebrate Sunday regardless, it takes courage to take a leap.

  8. globie Says:

    It was an interesting afternoon, people seemed nice, though its a very quiet office. Journey isn’t very straightforward either. They asked what kind of yoga I do, then if I have tried other types. I told them I tried Sivananda and Iyengar, but couldn’t be doing with all those bolsters, blocks and belts and faffing around, they then told me the Iyengar props are their best sellers!

    Oh well…..I should know by Friday, there is no 2nd round, but I don’t think its going to happen somehow, but I’m eating croissants on Sunday anyway!

    So are we meeting at Pret at Euston after practice?

  9. Helen Says:

    Whatever will be, will be…well done for having a go, maybe you will surprise yourself. Either way I feel like it’s a significant turning point for you, if that’s not your job then one will appear soon or perhaps after Mysore.

    We can meet at Euston or Liverpool Street, are we doing just breakfast this time or lunch too? How was practice?

  10. Globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    I think Mysore will happen first, in some ways I’m glad because if I took another job and never got to go to Mysore I think I would regret it as the years passed.

    Well I’m up for lunch as well, nothing to rush back for, I’ll try and wake Mel and Susan up, see what they are up to.

  11. daydreamingmel Says:

    I agree, as I found out myself this month sometimes working out what you don’t want job-wise is as important as finding something new. This way your mysore plan can be in place but you won’t feel like it was the default option, you investigated other avenues too…love the iyengar comment though, too funny!

    I’m happy to make the most of Sunday’s get-together as I now realise they will be few & far between in the next month or so. Pret first though I reckon, I missed the hot granola, croissants & comfy armchairs!

  12. Globie Says:

    OK so we meet Helen at Pret at Euston for croissants etc, then do lunch, great.

    Another LOL was when the finance lady asked about my practice, I told her since I started with Cary my practice has come on leaps and bounds, she nearly fell off her chair when i said I can do things now I thought were reserved for the “Bendy-Wendys” up the front!

    Practice at AYL was good, she watched me get into Mari D, but didnt assist and also nice that she let me get myself into Supta K first before coming to help. Dropbacks were assisted, the floor was a skidpan and I couldn’t get to the crash landing blankets!

Leave a Reply

