Intercostal pain

Practice was going so well this morning, it felt strong and my knees didn’t object much after their week off to doing all the Marichyasanas, which I managed to bind A through D on both sides. Supta K was a nice one, Michaela had 4 of us all at Supta K at the same time, she helped the first 2, looked at me and said something along the lines of you don’t need help as I lifted myself into Dwi Pada.

I suppose my mind may have been jumping forward to the backbends, but as I tried to straighten my legs in Urdva Mukha Paschimottanasana I suddenly felt the right side of my back below the shoulder tighten and pull as my intercostal muscle went, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. If it had happened in backbends  or earlier in the series when perhaps I wasn’t as warm I wouldn’t have been so surprised, but UMP is just so annoyingly innocuous.

A lot of rubbing later I tried to keep going hoping that as my body was warm I could somehow free it, I managed 3 ok ish Urdva Dhanurasanas then started doing hang backs, which were agony, everything felt rigid, I tried to stretch it with an Ustrasana before trying again and then doing a dropback where I only just saved myself from concussion at which point I decided to abandon it and go into Paschimottanasana, Michaela gave me a really deep squishing before I went through the rest of closing. After Sirsasana she adjusted me in Childs pose, commenting that I have a slight scoliosis in my lower back though that is no reason for the Intercostal angst.

After Savasana I sat against the warm radiator for 10 minutes then had a hot shower before taking myself to the Walk-in Backrub place at Neal’s Yard for 20 minutes massage on the intercostal spot. It’s just so frustrating…

I plan to still go to practice in the morning, I had already bought the train ticket, but I have no idea what kind of a practice I am going to be able to do, I’ll just have to wait and see how it feels. I don’t think I have done as much damage as the last time this happened when I couldn’t stand to sneeze or cough because of the eye watering pain those 2 functions of the body induced, as I had unlocated a rib. If I hadn’t already bought the ticket I would probably be debating about going tomorrow, but I have the ticket, standing should be ok, vinyasas could be interesting and as for backbends who knows, though if I make it worse, rather than my hope of keeping it moving and loose, then it will be time for an hour of pain on Cristina’s table.

4 Responses to “Intercostal pain”

  1. susananda Says:

    Yikes! I’ve torn intercostal muscles before and it takes about two weeks to heal. Never dislocated a rib!! Hopefully the quick intervention helped, having the backrub place next door is handy. What a drag though : ( See you shortly.

  2. globie Says:

    As Susan knows I didn’t make it to practice, I got to the station to find there were no trains until past 8am (Bloody engineering work, which they didnt mention when I bought the ticket!), which meant getting to YP was impossible and it would have been a very curtailed practice if I had gone to AYL. Texts from Susan and Mel both said it was a sign I should rest the intercostal. So home to a plate of toast and toast with my back to the hot radiator.

  3. arturo Says:

    hi Kevin
    i hope your intercoastal pain does not become bicostal. hope you feel better.
    cheers,
    Arturo

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Arturo,

    Its not as bad as the last time, so I am hoping Susan’s 2 week estimate wont be far off.

Leave a Reply

