Aching now

A good practice at YP with Susan this morning, the warm morning sunshine streaming in to add to the Shala’s heating. Standing were OK, I have been able to do the standing poses despite the intercostal and Susan’s PPC assist didn’t stress the injury, it just nicely stretched it out for me, much further than I have been able to stretch it on my own. Susan has a different take on my Prasarita A from Cary, who always tells me to try and get my head to the floor, I was trying to do this but I didn’t realise how much I must curve my back in trying to get my head to the floor until Susan pointed it out, I need to think about that one, what is more important head to the floor or length in the spine.

When I do the seated sequence I need to do jumping vinyasas to keep the heat, flow and energy in my practice, I decided to jump back and to step forward, this seemed to work ok until I got carried away and forgot myself and jumped back through from one of the Janu’s, intercostal immediately let me know that was a mistake! It took the wind out of me and I had to step forward and back for a few Vinyasas.

Susan was true to her blog comment and arrived for both Marichyasana C and D, thanks Susan, I really enjoyed the Mari C assist, she took me quite a way round, but it wasn’t uncomfortable. Mari D first side I can bind on my own after some squirming, but the second side I needed to have my fingers joined up, I just cant seem to reach around as far on the second side at the minute. I ended up having 2 goes at Supta K, first was OK but I wasn’t under far enough, so I decided to try again and got much deeper and crossed my feet easily enough, I didn’t dare to try and lift into Titibhasana, Bhujapidasana had been painful, I ended up jammed on my forhead unable to go either way, despite the stiffness and pain subsiding, the intercostal obviously has a way to go and I would rather it turns up for the Kino party in 5 weeks time. I was a bit wary when it came to Urdva Mukha P, as this is what caused the injury in the first place, but I was much warmer today and was trying to balance and straighten the legs when help arrived, which made the intercostal relax.

Backbends were better than expected, after a few bridge experiments I managed the 3 x UD’s and managed to walk in a little too, to deepen the bend, IΒ  then collected my “equipment” for dropbacks. It took a while to do the first one, my hang backs didn’t seem so good, the floor had moved, well I couldn’t see it at least. But eventually I did 4 dropbacks, 2 were not bad, controlling the last milli seconds of the hang phase for that bit longer, which seems to mean landing a fraction closer to my feet and getting a nod of approval from the sidelines πŸ™‚Β  Then help arrived for some cross arm half ways and an assited dropback and walk in, which felt good, strong and structured. The width of my feet in dropback is another question, too wide??? But despite using 2 mats I don’t think my feet are much more than an inch or 2 wider than the standard mat and I certainly feel safer going back, though I heard Michaela comment last week that the feet need to be nearer to help with standing back up. Everyone is different and it must be to do with a persons’ height as to the width of their stance or are dropbacks really about how open the upper back is?

Urdva Dhanurasana has been playing on my mind with the injury, but surprisingly pushing up into backbend is not detrimental to the intercostal, yet other weight bearing poses like Bhujapidasana, Titibhasana or Vinyasas bring on a very sharp reminder of last week.

Rest of closing and a Caryesque back manipulation in childs pose after Sirsasana, followed by Savasana in the sunshine. It feels like my body needs coercing back out of its protective shell, the postures are kind of there but not quite back to where they can be. My body is aching now and stiff, that’s not what yoga is supposed to achieve, but as usual mentally its the glue that keeps things together.

14 Responses to “Aching now”

  1. susananda Says:

    I wish everyone I assisted would write a report, it’s very interesting!

    Prasarita: don’t think I have a different take from Cary… It’s not a question of which is more important, they go together! It just looked like your head was touching the floor quite easily, but your spine was in a real C shape… so then you move the feet a couple of inches closer and lengthen more to touch… Touching the head down locks in the bandha which creates the extra length, that’s why it’s important…. but we have to keeping working the feet closer to get the spine longer and longer…. head always JUST touching. So basically it just looked like you could work harder πŸ™‚

    Your feet are a lot wider than your hips, which can put torque on the lower back and/or knees, especially combined with splaying, and you were splaying a lot too. Great if you’re not feeling it, but be careful. As M points out, they’ll have to be closer to stand up (or to go deeper). Work to bring the energy towards the centre line, and when you work your illicit shalabasanas and dhanurasanas, REALLY work on it. Over time they’ll simply have to come closer, sorry! πŸ™‚

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    Thanks for your feedback, its really useful, I had no idea I was making such a C shape in Prasarita, I need to touch then bring the feet in and re-lengthen the spine.

    Feet wider than hips along with splaying feet. I feel it far less in the knees and lower back at the Shala because the mat(s) stay put, at home with a mat on a carpet I have no real stability which exagerates into my knees as my feet lose it, I can do 1 or 2 dropbacks at home and annoy my knees, then do anything up to 7 or 8 at the shala and like today have no problem at all. To bring energy to the centre line, is that about engaging bandhas?

    Sorry about AC’s little interuption, I thought I had turned it off on the tube!

  3. AC Says:

    Gosh, should just fine students who take their cell phone to the shala and have audacity not to turn it off, πŸ™‚

  4. daydreamingmel Says:

    Kevin when you see Kino do Prasarita A you’ll be amazed how far through her head is – it looks like she could just start to come up the other side! My head is still a way off the floor but the friend I was there with realised that she still has a way to go to get fully into the pose even though she’s making contact already. And Kino’s legs look really close together too – but then she is miniature!

  5. globie Says:

    Hi Mel,

    I saw Kino’s youtube of her demo in Bologna, her Prasarita is incredible, though she is tiny. Practice and more practice is the only way…

  6. daydreamingmel Says:

    All these little adjustments that add up to big changes, as my friend said to Kino, it’s like we’ve been doing ashtanga-lite!

  7. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Glad to see you injury is still on the mend, well worth taking it easy now so you can be better for Kino. What were you doing when you injured it? Nice that you got to practice with Susan. Especially since you got to discuss adjustments afterward via blog, lol.

    There is a picture of us all doing prasarita padottanasana D on Kino’s facebook, have seen it Mel? I noticed you tagged the downward dog one. There is always more work to be done, it seems..

  8. globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    I was trying to straighten my legs in Urdva Mukha Paschimottanasana, I just felt it go tight then pull, ahhhh, tho not as bas as last time I did it about 2 years ago. Susan is great for sensible advice, during and after practice.

    I’ll try and find the pic on Kino’s facebook

  9. Helen Says:

    sent you the photo on FB, avoiding work, lol!

  10. daydreamingmel Says:

    yes, as you’ll see from the photo (there’s one of us doing A, too – I just tagged you in it) there is MUCH more work to be done for me!! I like to think it’s because I’m tall it’s harder to reach the ground πŸ˜‰

    by the way are we doing brunch this weekend? My plans changed so I’m going to be around now!

  11. globie Says:

    Youre tall should be easier for you!

    Yep brekky followed by lunch is the plan

  12. Portside Says:

    While at a workshop with John Campbell this weekend he described the old school adjustment for the prasaritas – to tip the practitioner from their hips to get their head to the ground. Which allows for the somatic nervous system to relax and the practitioner to achieve head to the floor much quicker.

    Which it then makes sense if your head is always just touching, small incremental lengthening will take place – that Susan points out so eloquently. πŸ™‚

  13. Helen Says:

    Cool glad you can make it to brunch Mel. Didn’t Kino give us a pep talk about the I’m to tall, I’m too short procrastinations, lol. Not sure it would make a difference unless you have small torso in relation to legs regardless of actual height. Anyway Mel enjoy the stretch and be glad you do not have to think to much about how to do it

  14. daydreamingmel Says:

    yep Helen, it was a Kino-fan joke πŸ™‚

    And Portside, I studied in Goa with Noah Williams, who is Mr Traditional, and he actually had me take me legs really really wide & lean right forward so that my head hit the ground. It was interesting to do it that way but I haven’t continued the practice once I came home as apart from anything it felt like something was going to snap in my legs from being that wide!

Leave a Reply

