After effects of a criminal Moon day practice

Mentally compelled myself to having to practice on last nights full moon, due to being out tonight. I actually wanted to practice anyway as my various bits of injured anatomy come back to health. Though I have booked a session with my therapist for next week just to be sure.

I really want to have my backbends back, so after standing and the first few seated forward bends I dipped into 2nd, pushing up into Salabhasana B I got that lovely painless click in my upper back that signals things are opening up, Dhanurasana, Ustrasana and 5 x Laghu Vajrasana. More decent Urdva Dhanurasana, my wrist only mildly objecting, reminding me. I felt open by this point and started hanging back working my way down the door, seeing how far down I could get and still stand up again. Time for proper ASIS engagement and then for the first time in weeks 3 safely landed dropbacks, the backbend is much deeper and free doing a dropback than pushingup from UD.

It was a good practice, especially outside of the shala environment with its heat and energy, it left me with a high from doing the backbends. The after effects are usually a calm contentment that is so lacking in my daily existence, but last nights practice left me feeling a little hyper which made getting to sleep a problem, tossing and turning until gone midnight, followed by a weird dream involving  the Sunday after yoga croissant folk.

6 Responses to “After effects of a criminal Moon day practice”

  1. Pat Says:

    Ahh, that upper back click – what a great way to put it to words. Yes it is lovely. Glad to hear your backbends are coming back. But haven’t you heard that Intermediate series will do that to you? You get rev-ed up! I used to think it was just hearsay but over the years, I’ve come to believe that there is some truth to it. And you’ve just confirmed it.

    Enjoy your concert. Say Hi to Dolores for me!

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Pat,

    The upper back click is kind of comforting, once it does it I know the backbends will probably be good and deep, its like a little door opening.

    It’s doing backbends late at night, there’s no unwind time before bed, problem is they come at the end of practice.

    Dolores was great, but she’s losing her voice. She did all the good ones.

  3. Helen Says:

    Glad you had a good concert. Strange dreams can come with second series, which I think is what Pat meant. So are you going to tell us about this strange dream, or is it too strange? I wish I was going to Thailand it’s cold!

  4. globie Says:

    Ok, the dream, we had eaten croissants after yoga and ended up in some kind of shopping centre, a tall girl with short hair was with me (Mel?) though it wasn’t Mel in the dream, she was telling me my hair was too long for yoga and was trying to get me into a hairdressers to get it cut, could strangley feel her tugging my hair telling me how short it should be. Told you it was strange!

  5. Helen Says:

    Lol, well Mel and I have had a few conversations about hair length and yoga practice and you have listened to our girl talk, very patiently. Do not think your hair is going to be getting in the way any time soon though. If it does I recommend pigtails, lol!

  6. globie Says:

    That is probably where it came from you 2 talking about it, I think you can tell how dedicated female yogis are by the amount of elastic bands they use, the more bands the less faffing between poses 🙂

    Don’t think you will see me in pigtails, appointment with Danish scissors on 17th, what she terms “wash n go” length!

Leave a Reply

