Easter Sunday practice- catching it

What a civilised Sunday morning, even though I still  took my usual early train just in case of delays, cancellations and the scum RMT, practice today was at 9.30, why cant we have this every Sunday? It meant I had time for a cup of tea before getting to YP just as the Central Line conked out. And surprise, I walked in the door to find Jamie already there, great to meet her at long last, the blogger who sorted out my yoga practice in Singapore at Christmas.So many of the cyber shala have turned into “real” people in the last couple of years.

The Shala was very quiet today, partly because of people being away for the weekend and partly I suspect because of the tube problems, though it felt somewhat strange being in a Shala in London and being the only Brit in the place, American teacher and students from America, Malaysia, Singapore.

The tube problems were the reason I got the whole way through standing before Cary arrived to start teaching. Once she arrived I got lots of help, Mari A squish with added ooomph from baby Oscar 🙂 and after I had done Mari D on my own she got me to repeat it with her adjusting me very deeply, it felt like my innards were well and truly wrung out. I re-instated the Titibhasana exit from Bhujapidasana, surprisingly good considering I havn’t done it for over 3 weeks, what with the wrist and intercostal injuries. Supta Kurmasana felt so different to Friday’s attempt during the Led Primary, time to sink down, stretch it out into Kurmasana, before moving the feet in to bind and hands round the back at which point Cary showed up to take me deeper into the pose, ending up with my feet over my head on the floor before lifting me a little and the instruction to bring the hands round for the exit, another reasonably successful Titibhasana, Bakasana jump back, well I presume it looked ok as she usually has me repeat it if it doesn’t pass!

Left alone until Ubhaya, she was on my case with this one last year, but since I worked out how to roll up she has mostly left me alone, but not today, she was back to tell me about my bent right knee, the left is straight, she says its my Scarum, oops I mean Sacrum, my right side is tight in Lotus as well, I think I need to do more hip opening. But after straightening my knee out she then got me to change the angle of my feet, which tipped my balance over the edge. No let up, she managed to balance me forward and backwards somehow and got me to feel and see what the posture should be like before telling me I need to spend more time “playing” with it and exploring it. Same again with UMP, though as we know I can’t even rollup into this one, I still can’t get any momentum.

I ended up adding a couple of extra Urdva Dhanurasana as I felt my back open a little, not to mention instructions about where my elbows should be pointing, walking in etc. When I can find the energy and structure to walk my hands closer in, the dynamic of this pose changes. So at last time for dropbacks, no help getting down this week, I knew it was going to have to be my own work. It took a couple of abortive attempts to get down, but I then nailed one, though forgot about the ASIS thing, before assistance to get back up, 3 dropbacks followed by the cross arm half way version, then another assisted dropback, a much deeper backbend, walk in then as she flicked the switch to bring me up I managed to from nowhere get control coming up, I just felt something was different, Cary said she could see I’d “caught it” as she put it, but still feels like a long way from doing it on my own. Did I deserve the lovely Paschimottanasana squish after that. Rest of closing and that great back manipulation she does in childs pose after Sirsasana. Savasana in the warm sunshine.

After practice tea with Jamie, so nice to meet and have time for a chat, though I think the ram packed underground ride back into the city surprised her, this is a holiday Sunday, I told her she should see it on a weekday!

10 Responses to “Easter Sunday practice- catching it”

  1. Pat Says:

    I’m so jealous that there was a class in London. Missing it up here for sure! So your sacrum is not cooperating fully too? Join the club. For that, I do miss my old chiropractor – he could snap it back in place right away. Sounds like a good practice, things getting back to where they should be. Hurray!
    The Oscar squish reminds me of when I used to have my girls stand on my knees to help me in Badha Konasana and of course, Holly standing on my back for Kurmasana. Maybe I might get lucky next week…..

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Pat,

    Not just a class, but with the best teacher in London too. Yes practice does feel like its coming back, just in time for Kino, but I need to be careful. Oscar is cute, his Mum tells him to push and he does. He’s been coming to the Shala since he was a month old. No child labour at AYL if you practice there I’m afraid!

  3. susiegb Says:

    You think Carey is better than Hamish? I’d always assumed he was the best in London … I’m coming over (from Oz) for a few weeks in October. Last time I was in London I went to AYL, maybe this time I’ll come to YP (is that right?!) too!

  4. THA Says:

    Public teacher comparisons make me really uncomfortable.

  5. AC Says:

    Cary is a great teacher as is Hamish I am sure (but I’ve never been taught by latter), all a matter of personal preference at end of day – go to whichever teacher you can connect with and learn from.

    We’re lucky in London to have such a wide choice of good teachers, trust me it’s hard to choose and stick with only one of them!!

  6. Globie Says:

    Hi Susie,

    I would never want to set up a league table of teachers, as AC says we are lucky in London to have a choice, but Cary at YP has taken my practice on a 2 year journey of discovery, I’m doing stuff I would not even have contemplated before I met her. She has taken more time to teach me than any other teacher in all the years on my mat and has this way of giving you the tools and belief that a posture is possible. I do enjoy the heat and energy of AYL, I’ll be there next Sunday, but YP has more space and no queues.

  7. susiegb Says:

    Well, I’m looking forward to visiting both shalas in October! I’m actually doing a workshop with Dena in Bali on my way to London, so I’m hoping to carry on with all the inspiration and things I’ve learned with her … Can’t wait!

  8. Globie Says:

    Hi Susie,
    Dena in Bali is great, I have been a couple of times. I am doing her week in Stockholm in August. See you in October

  9. Maria Says:

    Kevin
    Can u give me details of Denas workshop in Stockholm. By co-incidence I was planning to visit some friends in Stockholm in August, so this could work out very sweetly….. 🙂

  10. Globie Says:

    Hi Maria,

    I just e-mailed you all the details, hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

