Pasasana – Reasons it was given in case you were wondering

Kino gave me Pasasana today, despite the fact that I have yet to stand up from a dropback. I was surprised and delighted. During this afternoons Q&A session someone asked her about this. Her answer was that she gives the start of 2nd series when she can see the following.

  • Practitioner must have a consistent integrated Primary series.
  • They must be dedicated practitioners who are doing everything possible to stand up from backbend.
  • Poses up to Laghu Vajrasana can be given without harming either the student or the ashtanga lineage. Kapotasana is not given until the student CAN stand up from dropback, because this could cause back injury, pain.

So it feels like I was given it on merit by a certified teacher.

8 Responses to “Pasasana – Reasons it was given in case you were wondering”

  1. Pat Says:

    I was NOT wondering but what she says is consistent with what I’ve heard from Richard Freeman. The postures do help backbends by strengthening the legs, which is never a bad thing. Now you’ve got work to do!

  2. Maria Says:

    Kevin
    would you mind if I link/share this post on my FB page. I say this because there are some Hard Core taditionalists outt here that say you have to be able to come up from Back bend. I’m so happy that Kino has said this as she is so respected and well known, and suh an advocate of Guruji’s teachings.
    Stay well
    M

  3. Alin Says:

    I think the key is you were giving the pose by a Certified teacher. I don’t think the reasons why matter as much as that.

    There seem to be many people who give themselves poses or learn from the Internet, you’re doing it the correct way through dedicated practice and being in the room with teachers committed to the lineage. Congrats Kevin, you earned it!

  4. Globie Says:

    Hi Maria,
    feel free to put a link or whatever if you think it would help anyone, I was gkad someone asked the question and that I have her reasons in my mind. It must mean that a certified teacher thinks I have a reasonable practice, even though I often doubt this in my own mind.

    Alin,
    Thanks it s been a long journey to get this far.
    This is the first time I have actually been given a pose, I always did led primary and was familiar and comfortable with the sequence, so when I started mysore practice I did look like I knew what I was doing and my teacher never stopped me.

  5. susananda Says:

    I agree with Alin, this is interesting information, but the important point is that a certified teacher was the judge of these points. It shouldn’t be used by impatient people as license to give themselves poses or criticise their own teacher for following the rules more literally. A teacher of Kino’s calibre can take liberties.

  6. maria Says:

    Just to clarify, I was referring not to my own or a students need or self judgment that they were ready to “get” pasana. I was given pasasana by a certified teacher that I’ve studied with for years (with some degree of surprise in fact, no more tan Kevin!). However there are some teachers out there that are very strict on the requirements…. that is all 🙂

  7. daydreamingmel Says:

    I wasn’t sure I liked the implication that either you or somebody else might not think that you deserved this Kevin, but also agree with Susan that you have to take the lead from your teacher. Your comment that Kino must think your practice is reasonable also implies that the depth of somebody’s practice can always be seen from the outside…. this is definitely not what I understood from Kino’s teaching though!

    On a personal note, as I am learning primary series pose by pose (VERY SLOWLY!) I often find myself wondering about other people who are practising either full primary or more than I am, and wondering how it happened (if they can’t get into lotus, or do the binds, etc). I know that this is *my* issue not theirs, and maybe when I come to accept this it will magically be time for some new poses for me! But I have also had conversations that make it clear that others have decided when they were ready for more. I suppose it’s a choice, whether you want to go the traditional route or not.

  8. globie Says:

    Hi Mel,
    I spoke to Kino during the week and at the Conference Q&A session, I think she probably realised that I am dedicated to my practice and take it seriously, so she saw that, as well as my actual physical practice before deciding that it was time for Pasasana.

    Its been the same here with regard to some peoples practice, I have seen people doing quite a lot of 2nd series, but not be able to do Mari D or Supta K on their own. I don’t care what others get up to or how they have come to be so advanced when they havn’t succeeded in doing Primary poses. I like the tradition and the teachers who teach me, be that here or in chilly London.

Leave a Reply

