Double practice, Pasasana & Elephants in Notting Hill

Notting Hill Elephant

A very busy weekend, which turned out well. First stop TLC on Saturday morning for practice with Michaela. Not a bad practice, just accepting where things were and a case of ploughing through. Usual assistance in standing Prasarita C and UHP. It was in seated that Michaela produced a miracle, for me at least. Over the last few weeks I have been able to bind Ardha Badha Padma Pachimottanasana on the first side, but have been nowhere near on the second side, firmly believing that my left side shoulder rotation wasn’t open enough and that my arm wasn’t long enough anyway! Michaela came along and somehow got my half lotus in a different position, before telling me to reach around and suddenly I managed to grab my toe, how the hell did that happen? I managed all the binds, Mari’s and Supta K, but was not sweaty enough to get my arms through in Garbha. After seated I thought I may as well add Pasasana, I explained that Kino gave it me last week and Michaela was quite happy to assist, though she did it in a different way to Kino. Instead of getting the bind, then trying to get the heals down as Kino did in Thailand, Michaela got my feet flat, then assisted the bind before getting me to try and stand up a little as she balanced me, I’m willing to try any variation, though I think getting the bind will happen long before I work out how to balance and change the weight distribution. My wrist was objecting by now, so I only managed some not great Urdva Dhanurasana’s, before Michaela helped me with dropbacks, I could do it myself but I fear one dodgy landing and my wrist could be injured for months, it feels so fragile. I enjoy practice at TLC, it’s quite relaxed.

After practice I walked through the Farmers Market looking for the Shortbread Lady, but instead found a stall selling some to die for ginger bread, wonderful, my slice had gone by the time I got to Waterstone’s and came across the Elephants, there were 3, a jolly sight on a cold morning! Saturday afternoon I ran the travel club, not so well attended this week, never mind, it was a cold, wet, grey day. Someone at the club asked where I had been, “yes another yoga retreat in the sunshine” I replied, to which they said “you must be Guru level by now” LOL. Luckily my B&B was warm and cosy and gave me my first decent nights sleep since I got back.

Sunday morning clanged into life with a text from AC at 7.15am, we met in Mcd’s for a cuppa before practice, so nice to have time for tea before practice. It was so nice to be back in the shala, after transport issues, wrist issues and Thailand, walking through that door felt as much like coming home as unlocking my front door did last week as Cary beamed a welcome. After a chat about the trip and the problem with my wrist, I didn’t ice it after the TLC practice, I mentioned that I had been pleasantly surprised when Kino gave me Pasasana, I asked if I should continue to do it and Cary said of course I should if Kino said it was time, then time it is, so now I feel that I have officially crossed the line into 2nd with my teachers blessing, even if I only do 1 pose. Instead of just occassionally trying Pasasana as part of my home practice I now feel like I am working at something instead of just playing with it, it may be just one pose, but it’s added a new dimension both mentally and physically.

Practice was good, though my wrist as I type is not happy, I had to stop jumping back on every vinyasa, otherwise I would not have got through. Lots of new people as well as lots of familiar faces in their favourite spots, so not that much adjustment and I didn’t manage to reapeat Saturday’s Ardha BPP bind on the 2nd side. Apart from an assist in Mari A, I was left alone until Baddha Konasana, I enjoy that adjustment, I had done it once on my own, but Cary came along and we did the whole thing again, chin to the floor. After seated it was time to officially try out Pasasana in my Shala, I felt a bit self conscious doing the posture, Cary watched but didn’t assist, I suspect she just wanted to see how far I would get, she didn’t say anything, is that a good sign I wonder? My wrist was unimpressed with UD’s though I managed 4, then stood up and worked on hang backs, Cary said she thought I wasn’t doing dropbacks, but after explaining Kino insisted on assisting them so that I could land safely she went through the full repetoire on dropbacks, halfways etc. I had no problems today with Matsyasana or Uttana Pidasana, no nausea or head spinning, so I’m sure those problems were the result of sunshine and dehydration. My practice is taking far too long these days, it was 2 hours by the time Savasana was done.

It was good to be back, I so wished I lived nearer and could get there more than once a week. Practice was followed by a very leisurely brunch with AC and Mel, suddenly it was 2pm, a 2 hour yoga practice that takes all day, I for one am better for it.

13 Responses to “Double practice, Pasasana & Elephants in Notting Hill”

  1. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin, sounds like a great weekend. Glad it went well, looking forward to meeting up next weekend. Have booked myself on some of Kino’s workshops in September too. 🙂

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    Yes it was a nice weekend.

    Next weekend will be great, lots of people around. Looking forward to catching up.

    So which ones of Kino’s are you doing?

  3. susananda Says:

    Official 2nd series! Woo-hoo!!!

    What are the elephants all about? There’s a nice flowery one in Devonshire Square, will get a pic. Last year it was cows, then pianos???

  4. globie Says:

    Cary just seemed so pleased that Kino had given it me, which was nice.

    There’s one elephant that looks normal and has info about saving the elephant, but the white ones have messages on. I never saw any cows, but I did see a Piano in Carnaby Street when I did Dena’s workshop.

  5. Helen Says:

    Hi, yep exciting times. Great that you have something to work on while your wrist heals too. I am going to Kino’s led, mysore class and her intro to second. One of my students is going to all of it. What about you?

  6. globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    I am doing the same as you, Led on the Saturday, then Mysore and 2nd Intro on Sunday. I have to run the travel club on the Saturday afternoon, luckily someone us setting it up for me, so I can do the led practice.

  7. Emma Says:

    i like the line “guru level by now.”

    how many retreats until we get that one???!!

  8. globie Says:

    Emma, Guru not in this lifetime!

  9. daydreamingmel Says:

    How funny, when my mum & sister came up for the day yesterday we spent the entire day elephant spotting!! It’s a travelling exhibition about saving elephants, was in Antwerp and Amsterdam (i think) before now, and Copenhagen next. I might have that mixed up.
    Helen I’m doing Saturday Led with Kino too, but I’ll be waiting for the inversions workshop in the afternoon too. It’s a long way off but I bet it’s here before we know it!

  10. Pat Says:

    “a 2 hour yoga practice that takes all day” sounds like my idea of a perfect day! The “guru” thing is funny too. People have absolutely no idea how deep the rabbit hole goes, do they?

  11. globie Says:

    Hi Pat,

    Next Sunday will be the same, lots of people around for brunch, another all dayer.

    Ye the rabbit hole is infinite, but only people who practice understand that.

  12. Tiffany @ Moving Meditation Says:

    I love yoga practices that somehow last all day! Especially if brunch is involved.

    Sorry to talk about your wrist again, but have you tried wearing wrist splints while you type? I know your wrist is injured, not carpal tunnel, but I find wrist splints to be absolute lifesavers. Just thought I’d mention it.

  13. globie Says:

    Hi Tiffany,

    I think this week its going be be brekky & brunch!

    Not quite sure what you mean by wrist splints, the Physio told me not to strap the wrist unless I was doing practice or something physical, though turning taps on the last few days has become painful. I managed to get an appointment for Saturday, so hope she can set it back on the road to recovery.

Leave a Reply

