Practicing yoga and eating

Bloggers brunch, Helen, Mel, Jen, AC, Susan & Jaime

The definition of the perfect day when you are not on a retreat with Kino in Thailand is surely, yoga with a great teacher, followed by a 2 hour breakfast, followed by a short walk to a 2 hour lunch with a bunch of yogi’s who are only too happy to spend hours discussing asana, injury and the dynamics of bending over backwards.

Practice had to be a fastish one for me, as thanks to a long wait for a bus I didn’t get on my mat until 8.25, I did cut back on the Surya’s as I was quite warm from running to practice and I didn’t want my wrist to give up too early. I can do standing quite quickly when I put my mind to it and was on my own until Prasarita C, not a deep adjustment, but enough to make it feel like something more was happening apart from a forward bend. UHP was crap, the sun came out and dazzled me, I tried turning round but it was no better, a wobbly quick count to 5.

Seated were done, but my practice lacked momentum, my wrist is getting better, but it still feels very vulnerable, so I resisted jumping back and forth on the vinyasas. The Shala was nice and warm, so I didn’t need the heat from vinyasas, but not jumping took away some of the usual energy. I still managed to bind all the Marichyasanas, Susan came to check, before a feet down Bhuja and a pretty good Supta K. I was glad when the double sided poses and all those vinyasas were over, despite walking through my wrist was beginning to ache. Since I got back from Thailand I havn’t been able to get my arms through in Garbha, not slithery enough. A lovely Baddha Konasana assist, really like being taken down to the floor Susan is good at adding the pressure at the right time, though I think my shoulders still get a bit tense and tight.

So Pasasana came around, I had a couple of goes on my own before Susan arrived. With the help of the wall she managed to get my fingers to bind and me balanced, then I had another go on my own with my mat rolled up, at lunch she mentioned that I need to squat more and to work harder in Utkatasana. I feel like if I could balance better I would be able to reach around that smidgy bit further and find my own fingers. After I was done K on the next mat smiled and said “That’s hard“, she aint wrong, its a posture like so many that looks easy or at least doable until you come to do it.

Closing Urdva Dhanurasana was a trial, I managed 3, but my wrist in that position was not happy and by now the strapping the Physiotherapist put on yesterday had been removed by sweat, walking in helped, but after 3 I called it a day and did Paschimottanasana. I was in shoulderstand when Susan came to suggest we should do assisted dropbacks, I had mentally abandoned them for the day, but thought OK she will at least land me safely and I wont be down there long, it was good to do them, especially as I have not been able to do them at home, one dodgy landing and my wrist will be injured for months. I have lost a lot of the control I had built up by not doing them alone during the week, I especially noticed it when coming back to standing, a few weeks ago once the teacher instigated the lift I engaged something on my own and came up with control, today I was most of the way up before I felt like I could have any input. But I am glad Susan had me do them.

A very quick closing, starting late, despite less Surya’s and a speedy standing still meant I ran out of time, but it was good to practice, mental balance returns to give me the chance to survive the week of work to come.

After practice it was time to eat, first to Patisserie Valerie for breakfast, I really don’t know why we havn’t been here before for after yoga brekky, great pastries, I was very restrained in only having one large Pain au Raisin! After hanging out we headed round the corner for lunch, my god ashtangi’s can eat after practice! A few more hours eating and drinking, is it a record to have 5 bloggers and one commenter round one table? Yogi’s are such good company, thaks to all who came, I hope you enjoyed the day as much as I did.

9 Responses to “Practicing yoga and eating”

  1. susiegb Says:

    I really look forward to joining you guys for one of those 2-hour breakfasts and/or lunches in October/November! I used to go to Patisserie Valerie – the one in Soho, when I lived in London many years ago …

  2. Tiffany @ Moving Meditation Says:

    There really is nothing like a meal or tea with fellow yogis. It’s so nice to be able to ramble on and on about all things yoga with someone who doesn’t think I’m crazy or obsessed! I just love it.

    So glad you had such a great day!

  3. susananda Says:

    That was a very enjoyable lunch! Sorry I had to miss the breakfast again!

    Kevin, you were in paschimottanasana when I asked you about dropbacks. You must have been thinking ahead!! In any case your dropbacks felt WAY better than the last time I helped you, didn’t feel like I was doing much at all, plus you stuck with the breathing… huge difference.

    Regarding PPC, I was afraid to go deep because of your wrist… even though I knew it would probably be OK.. I don’t know, I just seem to be sensitive to wrist stuff even if it’s not mine. Haha… and I’ll really have to learn how to prop someone up whilst assisting them in pasasana, I’ll get Cary to show me again.

  4. Pat Says:

    I love the picture. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. So jealous…..

  5. globie Says:

    Susie, come along if you are in London.

    Tiffany it was a really nice day.

    Hi Susan, oh was I in Paschimott was I, ye thinking ahead, mainly to the croissants! Shame you missed breakfast. Its taking more breaths to get down in dropback which is giving me more control, rather than trying to do it on one, tho I seem to have lost that feeling of engagement on the way back up. There must be a knack to adjusting Pasasana, Michaela did a good one with me last week.

    Pat, you gotta come down again.

  6. Pat Says:

    The thing about squatting more in Utkatasana to help in Pasasana – it never ceases to amaze me how something that seems minor early in Primary becomes important later on. The postures sort of spiral back on each other. That’s the beauty of Ashtanga I think and I’m always impressed and amazed by the way it continues to be so. I really love being a yoga geek! I’ll see about coming to London again but I’m running out of weekends 😦

  7. globie Says:

    So true Pat, but I need teacher like Susan to make the connection for me. After she said it I could imediately see what she meant. It took me ages to realise that half the seated poses were the same as the standing ones in Primary.

    Hope you manage to get down again before you go back.

  8. Ragdoll Says:

    Another jealous reader here! Sounds/looks like a lovely way to spend the day.

    ‘the postures sort of spiral back on each other’
    I still sometimes feel like poses are in the wrong order, for instance the standing bind in half lotus always feel so wrong coming before the easier, seated version. But I like the idea of a ‘spiral’, it makes me think of each practice as a whole in itself, but part of the bigger, continually spiralling process.

  9. Pat Says:

    If we could all have Cary and Susan to help us out…. I still find some postures aren’t quite logical to me, in their sequence that is. But over time, a piece will fall into place here or there and it gets revealed a little more. A long journey for sure.

Leave a Reply

