Freedom of information among yogi’s

Having done a Shala practice on Sunday, full primary at home on Monday, I had planned to take it easy last night, but during the day reading the messages on Facebook and other places about it being 1 year since Guruji’s passing I was moved to get on my mat and do practice. Not quite full primary, up to Supta Kurmasana, Pasasana then some backbends. Urdva Dhanurasana is a problem just now, my wrist doesn’t like pushing up from that hand position, after one I thought better of it, “ouch ooo ooo owww” and did some Salabhasana and Ustrasana’s before a bit of hanging back. I think doing a dropback is going to be more of a mental than a physical problem when i resume them, I am going to be worried about my wrist giving in if I land too far from my feet.

At least the yoga community is encouraging and always willing to offer advice about approaching injuries and asana questions, the freedom of information among practitioners is amazing, you only have to ask a question or mention something in passing and replies come thick and fast. This is surely due to the uncompetitive nature of yoga. Yogi’s are genuinely pleased for one another when someone cracks a pose, there is no sense of “my practice is better than your practice”. The information and advice doesn’t just come from teachers either, students come up with some gems as well, Mel told us that she had been advised in Urdva Dhanurasana to “push the shit out of it”, after the laughter finished you could see what was being meant.

Despite Guruji no longer being with us, I am sorry I never met him, ashtanga hasn’t fallen apart, the community is strong, the practice goes on.

11 Responses to “Freedom of information among yogi’s”

  1. daydreamingmel Says:

    I should clarify, the “push the shit out of it” instruction was aimed at a particular spot on the chest, and based on working it out towards the back wall – I just want to make sure it doesn’t sound like anyone is advocating a forced sort of a practice! I think it’s because I had discussed with that person the fact that I just been told to move my shoulders back over my wrists, and this was an additional tip.
    And it is DEFINITELY helping me!

  2. globie Says:

    Its that kind of tip that makes it make sense.

  3. Maria Says:

    kevin
    I also think its great the way people share this information so freely, and in such a non-judging manner. For me it is one of the lovely things about the community of practitioners I’ve been blessed to kow, in person, or on-line!!

  4. globie Says:

    Maria you are right, I have met some wonderful people through doing practice

  5. Pat Says:

    I think we all have and it is such an honor and a privilege, to use a perhaps overused saying. And now I feel like I’m a member of the injured wrist club. Not fun. Typing blog responses doesn’t help either ;-).

  6. globie Says:

    Hi Pat, What have you done? Hope you can give it a rest, though perhaps as I know only too well keyboards and wrists were not made for each other. Though I don’t remember having these wrist issues when I was a one finger typist!

  7. susananda Says:

    Oh Pat, what have you done? I’ve been using the brace at work, it just keeps it stable and limits my range of motion to the safe…

  8. Pat Says:

    Not exactly sure what I’ve done but I suspect it’s a combination of cheating on trying to do jumpbacks (involved using bricks under my hands to get the feel of the swing in the jumpback) and too much keypad on the laptop. When something starts to hurt, I try to “work it out” which in this case, probably did more harm than good. So mouse with left hand now, and a small OTC brace. And no more cheating! Vinyasas are okay but reaching around to grab a toe or anything else is pretty painful. I used to have a wrist support mouse pad which seemed to disappear in the move. I’ll have to look for it again. Thanks for the concern.

  9. globie Says:

    Hi Pat, sounds like you are doing same thing I have a tendency for, using the shoulders as pivots in jumping through. I need constant supervision from Cary and Susan to stop me doing things that could hurt. Strange that you get the pain trying to bind, I’m ok doing that but lifting in Bhuja etc makes my wrist scream in protest. I swap mouse hands every week now, am sure that has helped.

  10. Pat Says:

    You’ll have to explain to me about the shoulder pivoting. I saw you mention it before and I didn’t understand what exactly that meant. I guess I need to understand better now.

  11. globie Says:

    Using the shoulders like a swing, rather than controlling the jump through from the bandhas, as if trying to go up into a handstand (not that I can).

Leave a Reply

