Daily Practice

After Saturday’s Shala practice I have been forced back to practising home alone thanks to a combination of my prefered Shala being closed for the holiday weekend and the crap train company closing our line into the city. Never the less I have managed 2 full Primary’s with lots of additional backbends and Pasasana experimenting, my fingers are getting ever closing to docking, both days I have managed to touch fingers. Hang backs are becoming deeper, knowing I am not going for the floor has meant that I can try and stay at the limit of my hang for a little longer.

Practice every day has changed my attitude to practice, I used to want to measure whether it was good or bad, but with a regular daily trip to my mat I am finding the whole process easier both mentally and physically, accepting that its the whole practice that counts not whether I bind Mari D, Supta K or do a dropback.

I am also mentally trying to get in as much practice as I can before the World Cup begins on June 11th, I just know that after a long day at the Labour Camp that there will be plenty of days when I get in the door, turn on the TV and watch a couple of matches.  4 years ago I watched the World cup too, I watched the opening match in ASDA’s electrical department before walking down to the L-Shaped room to do practice with Easter, even then yoga came first, well almost. I really need a strategy for getting out of bed and doing practice in the mornings on match days, otherwise those shala practices at the weekend are going to be oh so hard!

7 Responses to “Daily Practice”

  1. daydreamingmel Says:

    Here’s the strategy Kevin: set alarm, get up…. 😉

  2. StEvE Says:

    Hi,

    Here’s a YouTube link that might give you a few more ideas when you’re working at home on your backbending. I found it a bit cheesey initially, but he does raise some good pointers.

    Hope it helps!

  3. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin, I always thought morning practice would be good for you. It’s a great way to start the day. Some time by yourself before you face the world. I don’t know how I could have been a supply teacher without it.

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    I would like to be able to do morning practice, but I am just soooo stiff in the mornings. I do realise how mentally beneficial it would be to start the day off with practice, maybe I will have to try setting the alarm.

  5. daydreamingmel Says:

    I think everyone is Kevin…it’s nowhere near as flexible as evening practice but speaking personally I find the stiffness goes away with the practice. But as we’ve said before, I’m not comparing like for like as I go to the shala so have the journey to loosen up a bit.
    But I do agree with Helen in that having that time *before* you head to work (when you don’t love your job) is completely invaluable, it really sets you up for the day and almost always turns it into a better day than it would have been otherwise.

  6. Ragdoll Says:

    Practicing almost every day has made a world of difference to how I approach yoga, I feel much more confident of the fact that I can any day I like, rather than being reliant on classes. It didn’t take long for me to form the habit, so hopefully you’ll find the same. I’m a big fan of David Swenson’s short forms when time (or energy!) is lacking.

    I understand the fear of other things you want to do taking the time though. I’m away with family in July and already fretting about the fact that I’m sharing a room so might go without a full practice for a whole week.

  7. globie Says:

    Hi Mel, Doing practice early morning in Thailand was good, I had time for a cuppa, a stroll along the beach to watch the sunrise and it was warm. As you say its a whole different ball game literally rolling out of bed onto my mat all stiff and sleepy, but I may have to do it, well at least while the first round is on, 3 games a day!

Leave a Reply

