Harder morning

Yesterday I got up at 6am and did a reasonable half primary and some closing, it was actually closing less proper backbends, Urdva Dhanurasana is the pits at that time of day, it just doesnt want to happen, to manage a reasonable UD at that time of day I would need to do a completely criminal 2nd series poses warm up first, time precludes this option, so after one dire push up that annoyed my wrist I abandoned it, but apart from that it was an ok practice.

To make up for the lack of backbends I did 30 minutes of them when I got home last night, before settling down to watch the World Cup in guilt free bliss knowing I had done some practice. Italy versus Paraguay was alas as dire as my morning attempts at Urdva Dhanurasana.

This morning I was up and on my mat before 6am would you believe, but OMG was it a slog, one of those days when my body just didn’t seem to be up for it. I plodded through to Marichyasana B, but it had taken forever, no heat, no energy, no Bandhas, no backbends and not much breath. At least doing closing made it feel like a practice, Savasana was the highlight and I would still be there asleep if it wasnt for the fact that my next door neighbour roars off to work on his motorbike at 7.25.

I can’t remember how I coped with the last World cup, I did go to the Shala every Friday night, but I don’t remember doing much practice otherwise, I certainly wasn’t getting up in the middle of the night to practice. I think that my wrist is getting some World Cup benefit too, as usually apart from doing my practice I would be playing on the internet in the evenings, so its getting less mouse and keyboard time. Hopefully tonight’s Brazil versus North Korea will be more interesting.

24 Responses to “Harder morning”

  1. daydreamingmel Says:

    6am is not the middle of the night! Just keep at it & it will get easier, I promise. Mind you I enjoyed some extra sleep this morning after my usual long Monday, just a song-length headstand and some stretching before sitting for a while. I always feel so calm at work on tuesdays, not sure how to replicate that on the days when I practice – but I’m sure that’s the wrong way around!

  2. globie Says:

    6am usually that would mean at least another 75-90 minutes in the land of nod, so definitley feels like the middle of the night. I am still so stiff as well, it hasn’t begun to feel any easier after 6 days of getting up.

    So what’s your headstand song?

    I only ever feel stressed at work, even after doing yoga in the morning!

  3. susananda Says:

    Hey Mel, missed you at the shala this morning. Um, yeah, re the calm, wrong way around for sure??!

    Kevin, 6am may well seem like the middle of the night in winter, but sunrise today was at 4:43, so all I can say is open your blinds : )

  4. globie Says:

    I dont even have the curtains drawn, nothing wakes me up, not even early morning sunshine.

  5. daydreamingmel Says:

    Kevin 6 days is not very long! It took me months of gradually easing into it for morning practice to start to feel like ‘the norm’. Now I love it…but I love the odd morning of sleep too! The song varies, it’s just about giving my brain something to do other than count & panic when I reach 10 – so far the mind game is working…soon i can remove the singing prop I think!!
    Thanks for missing me susan, I missed you on monday 🙂 It was funny,a lot of people who’ve been absent for a while were back yesterday,had 2 days of really yummy practices in a row with really great energy (yes I am now a fully-fledged hippy). I think the lack of focus at work after practice is to do with the rushing around, was just saying to Kevin i think i need to re-look at my routine so there is less rushing.Maybe just 1 shower or wait until I get to work to drink tea!

  6. Maria Says:

    kevin
    do u have an i-phone? there is this sleep cycle alarm clock app, that basically (and I haven’t got a clue how the science behind this actually works, it just be a whole bunce of BS) through some kind of sensitivity monitor, wakes you at some point within a 30 minute window of when you normally sets your alarm for. It monitors ur patterns, and bsically judges when you are in your lightest sleeping phase within that 30 minute window, so the shock to the system of the 5 am alarm is not tough to bear.
    I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks, and I dont know how it does it, but i actually am waking up to the alarm and feeling totally fine instead of my usual “oooooohhhhhhhh nooooooo ” groan. It could of course be all in my mind!!
    How long are you awake for before u actually get on the mat? I find a quick hot/cold/hot shower as soon as I wake up, and before I practise works wonders 🙂

  7. globie Says:

    Hi Maria, No I don’t have an I-Phone, I do like them ( I played with Susan’s in Thailand 🙂 ) but at the minute they are too expensive. Its usually no more than 10 minutes from waking up to getting on my mat. I get up, faff ariund and then start.

  8. Maria Says:

    Vodafone gave me on for free!!! otherwise I wouldn’t have bothered to be honest… 🙂
    Hmmm 10 minutes from bed to mat is not very long…. i usually have about a 30 min gap – i shower, maybe do a load of washing or some other domestic chore that takes about 5 minutes, do my pranayama, sit for a while, then start. It means getting up a bit earlier, or skipping b/fast at home, and having it at work ..
    I think its about forming the “habit” of getting up early – but that can take time. Dont feel bad about it.

  9. globie Says:

    I’m on PAYG, I only put about £15 a month on it, so to have to pay £100 for the phone then £35/month for 24 months is a bit silly.

    Its only 3 inches from my bed to my yoga mat, if I started mucking around doing other stuff I would probably end up not doing as much practice. I have to be at work at 8.30 and that’s another thing with “That” place they don’t like people eating at thier desks, though we do! So I have to have brekky at home. Its just that my morning practice is stiff and slow compared to the evening or the Shala practice.

  10. ragdoll Says:

    I think you need to try to stop making that comparison. How incredible is it that you’re doing any practice at all at ohmygod o’clock in the morning?!

    Mel is right that this is all brand new, give it time. I’v realised though that with your weekend visits to the shala, you almost never get a lie in, so you’re beingamazingly disciplined already.

  11. ragdoll Says:

    + e

    Also, Mel, I love the song idea.

  12. daydreamingmel Says:

    Saturdays & moon-days are the only days for sleeping in!

    And Kev – see, Maria is saying exactly what I’ve been saying on email 🙂 It’s all about habit & turning this into your new routine. Before you know it 6am will seem like a lie-in.

    R – I was freaking out while counting my headstands so decided to sing (silently) instead. It’s working! Am also trying counting in French for uttitha hasta padangustasana as I almost always drop my leg on 4! The song should probably be something yogappropriate though, mine is from Hair 😉

  13. globie Says:

    And Tuesday eh Mel 🙂

    Well I just hope it gets easier soon, if I get many more practices like this mornings, I will be inclined to just turn over. I also need to make sure I get to bed on time. It felt like that last week having practised both Saturday and Sunday at the Shala, then got up early all week, this Saturday’s lay in was bliss.

    Mel you should sing in headstand at the Shala, then we could all join in, we could have a Shala song!

  14. daydreamingmel Says:

    Kevin I haven’t been convinced to sing solo yet after 8 years in my choir, I’m not going to start at the shala…plus I don’t think everyone would like it!!

    You may find you start needing less sleep once you are practicing regularly in the mornings – I know that’s been the case for me. I hear myself saying I’m tired in the evenings after an early start & long day then realise I’m actually not. Rewrite the story, remember??

  15. globie Says:

    Mel, we would love to hear you sing, you must be good to be in a choir for 8 years.

    Sleep is such an enjoyable thing, I can’t imagine wanting less of it anytime soon. The afternoons between 3-5pm are becoming the hard part, staying awake or at least alert, I have been trying to do the doss jobs then so I don’t make any silly mistakes.

    I just hope tomorrow mornings practice is better than todays.

  16. susananda Says:

    Oh Mel, I know what you mean about the rushing! Ugh!! Things are certainly more ‘leisurely’ on a day off. ‘And Tuesdays, eh Mel’ that cracked me up 🙂 see you tomorrow!

    Maria, what is the name of that app please??

    Kevin…. OK, sorry if I’ve kind of been making light of the situation… I do know this pain!! I would have spent more time encouraging you if Mel wasn’t doing such a good job already 🙂 I think you actually have it really tough with your hardass employers (no eating at your desk, wtf??). Do you get a lunch hour? Could you skip it and come in later? I know they’re very inflexible, but maybe they should move into the 20th century on this one, I’m sure you are a valued employee and they don’t want to see you just piss off over the sake of a slightly different working arrangement which is totally the norm everywhere else. It’s not like you’re asking for a pat rise! Personally I’d threaten to leave. Where is Karen??

    Lastly, I used to have a pay-as-u-go phone and put £10-15 a month in it, gave up finally after 7 years when a full battery wouldn’t last the day. £35 month x 2 yrs (ok I got the phone free, but £100 is not a lot…. and check again if there is a better deal on current model before release of the new). For £20 difference….. you cannot compare the two, the phone is the least function of the iPhone, what about the mobile email, GPS, music, Internet, and apps for pranayama, moon days and sleep cycles??

    Can’t believe I’ve written such a long comment. I should be writing my own blog!

  17. susananda Says:

    Er, 21st century, that is. One thing about the iPhone, you can’t read your comment once it scrolls off the screen : )

  18. daydreamingmel Says:

    Susan maybe they need to join the 20th century first, the 21st may be a leap too far… 😉 oh & yes, see you tomorrow, tuesdays eh?!

    (Kevin the only solo you are getting is my chant when I am too late for the joint one!!)

  19. globie Says:

    Hi Susan,

    19th century would be a start, Dickensian attitudes to the way people are treated in this place, another one quit yesterday after 16 months here, says it all that’s 46 gone in 7 years I have been here! We do get lunch and I make sure I take it, even if I only play on the internet reading the blogs. Someone asked about changing their hours yesterday, guess what the answer was! Talking of pay rises we have our appraisals coming up, we have no expectations luckily!

    I am still so tempted by the I-Phone I have to say, the apps and for me the mapping would be great, but I am mindful that once I do escape this place and go to Mysore money may be much tighter, so I dont want to add to my commitments.

    So Mel, Wednesday did you practice and rock the shala with your singing headstand?

    My practice was much better this morning.

  20. Maria Says:

    @ susananda – the app is “Sleep Cycle Alarm Clock” – hope it works!!

  21. susananda Says:

    Thanks Maria, I will check it out!!

  22. daydreamingmel Says:

    This morning’s silent song was “There is a Rose in Spanish Harlem” by Aretha Franklin…I have *no* idea why. It wasn’t the best though, back to Hair tomorrow 🙂

  23. globie Says:

    Seems very random, but different.

  24. daydreamingmel Says:

    RANDOM! Precisely….

Leave a Reply

