A 6th day in a row- just.

Nearly blew it this morning, I woke first at 04:55, no way, turn over, back to sleep. Suddenly its 06:05, why doesn’t time at the Labour camp go that fast? At this point I seriously considered turning over again, two weeks ago I probably would have, but the mind set must be changing, I got up, made tea, shook myself into life and started to do practice. I had no idea how far I would get, effectively starting 25 minutes later than usual, but mentally knowing I had to get on with it seemed to bring a surprising focus and momentum. OK I admit to cutting back on the Surya’s ( 4 and 3), but despite the rushed start I found I was quite open in the Trikonasanas and Prasaritas, even a quite well balanced UHP.

I must have really got on with standing, I seemed to have gained back about 10 minutes, I knew I would face the choice of all of seated or doing some seated and doing closing. The focus and momentum carried on, my right foot miraculously appeared in half lotus for Ardha Badha, that rarely happens, let along at that time of day. All the forward bends had length. I tried re-instating jump backs in the vinyasas, though carried on with Susan’s jump to just behind the hands coming forwards, my wrist can only take so much.

Doing a “Just go for it” type of practice, as opposed to setting off with a plan seems to bring a kind of mental freedom, not having a goal means not having a disappointment. I carried on to Navasana, having bound all the Mari’s A to C and first side of D. As it was the last practice of the week I decided to do closing, rather than plough on. The mental game of laying flat preparing for Urdva Dhanurasana, then pushing up. I managed my 3 backbends, probably aided by the fact that I spent a criminal hour before last night’s match doing all the 2nd series backbends and experimenting with Maria’s feet up backbends! No time for hang backs, just an unhurried move through the rest of closing. And a 7 minute Savasana 🙂

 I think in my case having too much time when I can faff (drinking tea does not count as faffing), or play around in practice, gives my mind places to wander off to and takes away momentum, heat and focus, but a practice constrained seems to make me focus and get on with it, keeping the heat, after all yesterday I started 25 minutes earlier and only got to Bhuja and closing.

But when all said and done that is a full ashtanga week, Sunday to Friday, I have done 3 full Primary’s, 2 half Primarys and closing and one crap practice to Mari B, but at least I managed to get up every morning and do it. Moon day and Saturday tomorrow, I am definitley turning over zzzz

7 Responses to “A 6th day in a row- just.”

  1. Kai Says:

    Nicely done, Kevin! I know how hard it is to manage a six-day on your own, at home. It takes a lot of will power (and maybe a text or two!). Congrats! Carry on…

  2. globie Says:

    Thanks Kai, Sunday was at the Shala with Susan, but the rest have been home alone.

  3. daydreamingmel Says:

    Well done Kevin 🙂 Did I say to you the other day that it was suggested never to get on your mat with an action plan? Glad to hear it worked anyway, a good week for you! I like the mental adjustments that are happening too, it’s all part of the process…
    what does Kino say, there’s no happy ending without a happy journey.

  4. globie Says:

    Hi Mel,

    Its good to make a complete week, I do like Kino’s comment 🙂

  5. daydreamingmel Says:

    on AND off the mat it applies…..

  6. globie Says:

    Off the mat is easier said than done, the mat is my sanctuary from all the crap that goes on off the mat……

  7. daydreamingmel Says:

    It wouldn’t be any fun if it was easy!! 😉

Leave a Reply

