Ready to vinyasa in Scandinavia

Off to Stockholm tomorrow for the mysore practice week with Dena. I feel ready this time, unlike the days leading up to our trip to Kino’s workshop in April, when we had volcano stress and my wrist injury had led to a total stop to practice for the 2 weeks leading up to it. When we finally got there I had no expectations, I was just glad to be there and praying my wrist wouldn’t give up on day one. Being given Pasasana on the last day was a quite extraordinary bonus.

After Sunday’s Shala practice, Monday was a wash out thanks to an IBS day, god knows what I had eaten to upset things so much, Mel can vouch for the fact that I was very restrained in only having one Pain au Chocolat during yogis breakfast on Sunday morning. Tuesday up to Bhuja and some ok backbends. Last night a complete primary which took far longer than intended, well mainly because I intended to go to Bhuja again, but then kept going. Then adding on some Pasasana experimenting, putting something under my heals to try and get some stability as I twisted round, not sure if it helps or is the way to go. My back felt stiff, I got into that state of not being able to push myself up off the floor into Urdva Dhanurasana for what seemed like ages, before eventually managing a couple of not very good ones, I think my hands were too far back, which in turn annoys my wrist. Even hangbacks felt like cranking open, no ease at all, a fight for every millimetre, until eventually I landed one dropback. It was dark by now, I had contrived to spend another 2 hours on my mat, where does the time go.

But at least my body is with the program, so 9am Saturday morning as Dena calls Ekum, it shouldn’t come as too much of a shock to the body, unlike the first day in Thailand. I have been to Stockholm a lot over the last few years, I have done all the sights, so this time I promised myself no rushing around, just practice, chilling out reading in the park or maybe watching the boats.

5 Responses to “Ready to vinyasa in Scandinavia”

  1. Linda Says:

    Have a great intensive with Dena! I considered going too but chose to attend Kino’s and Tim’s workshop in Stockholm starting next saturday instead, can’t wait 🙂

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Linda,

    I didnt know Kino was going to be in Stockholm. Maybe we can meet for a coffee while I’m there.

    Hope the weather is going to be nice, last time I came over it was really hot

  3. Linda Says:

    Yes, Kino&Tom are giving a workshop at Atmajyoti yoga shala 14-17.8 (http://www.atmajyoti.se/ws_timochkino.html). If your still in Stockholm during the weekend it would be nice to meet over a cup of coffee.

    I hope the weather will be nice too, but let’s see, at least in Helsinki it’s been quite unsteady during the last week.

  4. laruga* Says:

    Welcome to Stockholm! 🙂

  5. globie Says:

    Thanks Laruga, hope we get to meet for a coffee or tea

Leave a Reply

