Y2K + 10 & Yoga Bear

I just realised its 10 years since that fateful September week in the south of France that changed yoga from an occassional thing to something that would take over my life, well almost. Back then I knew what Surya A was and knew Navasana because I didn’t like it, though I am still not overly keen on it. The first few days in France nearly killed me, thanks goodness all I had to do after practice was lay by the pool until the evening session, I was fit for little else. Back then my life revolved around the TV, going to Football, chanting about the Referees parentage and eyesight rather than “Ommm”, and travel to far flung, weird places that scared the crap out of my mother when I told her where I was going. Back then life seemed better, more satisfying, more hopeful, or is that the rose tinted spectacles, I had a job I didn’t mind, travel was everything and yoga was just once or twice a week at most if it didn’t clash with the football.

So here we are 10 years later, I no longer go to football, its cost has risen out of all proportion to my wages if not the players. I still travel, but predominantly to do yoga, I hardly watch TV at all, I am in a job that depresses me from the moment I open my eyes in the morning, but Ashtanga yoga now fills a massive proportion of my non working, waking hours. I can do postures at 46 years old that at 36 I thought were purely for the bendy wendy, skinny aliens up the front. I now know my Urdva Dhanurasana from my Prasarita Padottanasana, I chant with Kino and not with 30,000 other football fans, I love my practice. But there is now something missing, a zest, an enjoyment of life, yoga is keeping the wheels on life and keeping them turning around. Yoga and the people I know from yoga are the lights in a dark world. Yesterday M told me a quote from DS, “Dont let yoga ruin your life“. In 10 years Yoga has made me quieter, more inward looking, but less tolerant in many ways, I don’t get to laugh as much as I used to, I don’t get any joy or pleasure from things that used to bring me that. There is a pervading lethargy that I only seem to be free of when I practice. I need to find joy in something else.

In this mornings paper I read about a Bear called Santra who lives in a Zoo in Finland, Santra is no ordinary Bear it seems, she does yoga! Here’s the article

3 Responses to “Y2K + 10 & Yoga Bear”

  1. roselil Says:

    Couldn’t it be your present job that is the main culprit? That your impossible job situation is the reason why you laugh less and why you have less fun now than before?

    “I am in a job that depresses me from the moment I open my eyes in the morning …”. If it was a friend telling you this, what advice would you then give your friend?

  2. globie Says:

    Hi Roselil,
    Well its going to come to a head at the end of April when the company relocate.

  3. fivefootwo Says:

    ” I chant with Kino, not with 30,000 other football fans.” Priceless! Great post, thanks.

Leave a Reply

