The yoga graph

I’m glad it’s moonday tomorrow, I need a rest. Today’s practice felt like a practice too many, 5th full primary in a row and 6th out of 7 days with a Half primary thrown in. I havnt actually taken a day off for a week. My practice is very cyclical, day 1 is for reopening the body, days 2 & 3 are better, usually day 4 is the good one, day 5 it starts to go off and the 6th is a matter of getting through it.

I have given up with the secOnd side of Mari B & D the past few days as my right knee and calf seem to be in rebellion, I woke up in the night and my leg buckled as I stepped out of bed. As soon as I even move my foot towered lotus I can feel it. I have also just been dropping back on to my Futon and not the floor.

Usually the day doesn’t feel right if I don’t practice, but tomorrow I am going to enjoy the rest.

I saw a trailer for EPL this evening, that’s what I need to do or something like it, the work, eat, practice, sleep routine is becoming tedious. Practice and sleep are the highlight of Monday to Friday. I am back to living for Sundays shala practice.

Another one bit the dust at the Labour camp today, he’s well out of it, though whether he jumped or was pushed we gave yet to discover.

3 Responses to “The yoga graph”

  1. ragdoll Says:

    I was just thinking this morning about the cyclical nature of my practice. Sunday is home, and often long with some playing around. Monday is the first Mysore of the week, and often feels the strongest. Tuesday is a maintenance kind of practice. Wednesday is usually the most flexible, and sees the more obvious physical progress. Thursday is the last home practice and the last that isn’t led, so that makes it feel important somehow. Then Friday is, of course, led.

    Hope your right leg eases up, sounds a bit worrying to me.

  2. StEvE Says:

    The differences in each of the days of the week are fascinating aren’t they. I was never a great believer in Astrology but when I got deeper into this practice, and started to relate the dominant planet for each day to how the practice felt, it was quite a wake up call really.

    The only difference for me is that I tend to rest up on one weekday, and do a full practice on the Saturday, but that’s just because there isn’t a work commitment to fit in on the Saturday & Sunday, so they always rock and culminate in a nice long rest!

    Kevin; there are some fantastic sub-routines in Ramaswami’s book on Vinyasa Yoga that might help to open up your Marichi D. It’s worth a look, and all straight from the Krishnamacharya lineage.

  3. Globie Says:

    Hey Steve,

    I usually practice on Saturdays purely because I have the time, my usual problem is judging when to have a rest day, though now we are back to midweek Champions League matches that is usually the rest day. I am aware of the cycles but still wonder if they are just giving my mind a chance to be lazy. Kino was right when she said the mind gives up far quicker than the body.

    I can do Mari D on the first side, the second side is the problem because of the knee/ calf problem. I actually like the twists they are “my thing” I can generally do them, I will check out the book though thanks

Leave a Reply

