TGF AYL & and end to the procrastination.

I thought I wasn’t going to get to practice at all this morning thanks to Network Rails over running engineering works, 38 minutes late we pulled into the city, luckily I had already decided thanks to TFL’s joke of shutting down east London’s tube network to practice at AYL.

So just a walk round the corner this morning, rather than an olympic sprint through the tube, only space left was in the corner, which was ok but for the dehumidifier belching cold air out. The ashtangi next to me was on seated, so no arm clashing etc, though she was doing dropbacks when I got to UHP. Lovely to practice with Louise again, its been a while, but she looks out for me and was there when I needed help in PPC. Left alone mostly in seated apart from Triang Mukha and a deepening of Marichyasana A and as usual at AYL Supta K was assisted, I didn’t mind, I used to mind because I really wanted to do it on my own, but now I can, it no longer seems such a big deal.

Practice doesn’t seem such a big deal at all at the minute, I just do it, OK I modified the second side of Mari D for my knee, but everything else was done, I do practice now without the thinking ahead, though I will admit to not actually being present all the time. A nice assist in Pasasana, finger touch on the first side, fingers bound on the second ๐Ÿ™‚

Ended up doing 5 Urdva Dhanurasanas, first 2 were weak, so I did 3 more to walk in and get some bend in the backbend before standing up for dropbacks. No bolsters, blankets etc available, so I put my tiny towel down as a target. The last time I practised with Louise she was still taking me down, today she just observed from H’s mat behind as I did 4 dropbacks on my own, all safely landed I am glad to say, which makes me wonder if I really need the props to stop me landing on my head anymore. No comment either just a nice squish in Paschimottanasana, before the rest of closing, then decamping to the finishing room for Savasana in the sunshine, I love the sun streaming in like that.

Ashtanga is a very small world, lovely to meet Susie in person from downunder at last andย  a real surprise to meet Steve in Pret who has commented on this blog from Thailand for a while, the ashtanga Sangha is one of the best things I can say about doing this practice, we are a community despite the miles that separate us.

Christmas Procrastination now over, a whim to call another flight company after seeing an advert in the Sunday paper and by tweaking the dates, suddenly they shave a couple of hundred off the price of a flight to Sri Lanka, I’ve done it now, though have taken a bit of a chance on the yoga place having any accommodation left, cross your fingers for the e-mail I just sent them, otherwise I will just have to be a tourist for 2 weeks!

6 Responses to “TGF AYL & and end to the procrastination.”

  1. Ragdoll Says:

    This weekend was one of the few where I didn’t listen to Excess Baggage, I’ll have to get it on i-player!

    Your comment about the supta k assist is interesting. I can sometimes get caught in really wanting, or not wanting, an assist. In general, I have a good balance of home and shala practice, so that if I don’t get an assist then I know it’ll come round again in a couple of days, or if I do and I’d been hoping to get it alone, I can enjoy the deeper pose and try it on my own the very next day.

  2. globie Says:

    I didn’t know it was going to be on this weeks edition, its generated a lot of interest.

    I used to always want the Supta K assist when I was learning, but now I can do it I prefer to be left alone at the Shala as its always hotter and therefore easier to do than at home where its rarely warm enough, though I like the assist at TLC from Philippa who always takes you all the way into Dwi Pada.

  3. daydreamingmel Says:

    Yay for Sri Lanka!!!

  4. Globie Says:

    Thanks Mel

    I woke up to find an email from the yoga place telling me I got the last bed ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Susie Says:

    Great to meet you too! Been in Cardiff and now off to Dublin – will have to blog a lot when I get back! What yoga place in Sri Lanka? I didn’t know there were any!

  6. globie Says:

    Hi Susie,
    Good to see you are getting about, there’s a couple of shala’s in Dublin.
    I found the Sri Lanka yoga place by accident, http://www.ashtangalanka.com it looks really nice place to do practice and hang out.

Leave a Reply

