Pasasana question

After the IBS problems earlier in the week and a day off it was back for a full practice last night.

So I get to Pasasana and decided to try a bit of self adjustment, I wound a strap around my knees to try and follow Louise’s comment about really keeping the knees together, I thought if the knees were already jammed together I could concentrate on Cary’s point about getting the arm lower and further under and round in the hope of it finding the top one. Well I did seem to be able to get deeper, but alas no bind.

Teacher’s say that it is more important to bind than to get the feet flat, but it has got me wondering if it is easier to find the bind when the feet are flat? Are my fingers more likely to find each other than if I am trying to balance on the balls, so any of you out there who can easily do Pasasana, which is easiest feet flat or not?

11 Responses to “Pasasana question”

  1. Kai Says:

    I’m very close to heels-on-the-floor in Pasasana, but I still lift them to get the bind. I find the bind is easier with heels lifted.

  2. fran Says:

    Me too, but I’m not sure it isn’t because I’m too busy struggling with balance when my feet are flat.

  3. skippetty Says:

    I’m binding, but my heels aren’t flat yet, not unless I’ve got a teacher assisting me. I find it’s easier to bind than to get the feet flat… Coz I find getting the feet flat’s a combination of deep twist, core strength and balance rolled into one. Tricky!

    I’ve also had teachers tell me that it’s more important to bind first before getting heels flat.

  4. globie Says:

    My heals are definitley lower, Susan advised me to do longer, deeper Utkatasanas to help Pasasana, I think this has made the calfs stronger and allowed more balance. I have tried putting the feet flat, but couldn’t get the lower arm as far round and under, so have gone back to squatting.

  5. Helen Says:

    Yep easier to bind with heels lifted, once bound you can then bring heels down, if you can. Not sure if I still do it this way, will check, definitely used to.

  6. StEvE Says:

    I’m not out of the woods yet myself with pasasana, but I’m eagerly awaiting this next moon phase because good old Louise sussed a major oversight, which may or may not hope you too (I’ve never seen you attempt it).

    It’s all about the upper shoulder in my case. I’ve been moving the shoulder forward, in order to bind. This fundamentally WRONG. The pectoralis and subscapularis muscles must work to turn the shoulder out and in (imagine a far reaching sweeping action as you bind around behind). Basically, this provides almost a centimetre of movement towards the receiving hand and it might just clinch it for me, because I was at fingertips touching before (without assistance). My approach is to work this in right from Marichi A-D, and also to drop chaturanga dandasana right down to just an inch from the floor, which also takes tension and compressive strength out of the shoulder girdle. I think this too is counter-productive to deepening the twist and binding. It also gives me a wonderfully deep exhale in chaturanga, which is rejuvanating in itself, and great for bandha development.

    All thanks go to Louise at AYL (God bless her) and Manu, and authorised Italian teacher who I had the great fortune of meeting for 3 morning practices when I stayed in Oxford last week. Now though, it’s back to the mat and no teacher for me …. but heaps of inspiration.

    Good luck!

  7. StEvE Says:

    p.s. ‘hope’, should read ‘help’. I’m dreadfully jet-lagged!

  8. globie Says:

    Thanks Steve, all ideas worth trying. Interesting about moving the shoulder forward, it feels like a natural thing to do. Louise was saying I need to get the lower arm further up. Will see what tomorrow brings.

    Manu in Oxford, so presume you met Bella as well, I practised with her when she lived in London, she’s another good one.

  9. StEvE Says:

    Yes, Bella was there everyone morning however, she wasn’t teaching. She was working very hard on her Intermediate. The two of them have got something very good going for Oxford; well, anyone that can be bothered to get there for 6.30.

    • StEvE Says:

      God! I’m really, really struggling with jet lag this time! “everyone” should of course read “every” (and I teach English here in Thailand; that’s worrying!)

  10. Good practice « The Journey of my practice Says:

    […] the train in I had read Steve’s helpful comment on a previous post about the shoulder rotation in Pasasana, I can see what he means about gaining precious length […]

Leave a Reply

