Shala practice & The Yoga Show

It’s been a fun day once I got into London, late train AGAIN grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr, breath. Yoga followed by yogi breakfast followed by the Yoga Show.

Yoga Show

A nice practice at the Shala with Susan teaching today, it was nice and warm by the time I got there and the dehumidifier wasn’t on, so I parked myself between Mel and the heater and was soon putting down the yogitoes as the sweat dripped. Standing just seemed to fly by, nice assist in Prasarita C, though I have no idea how near the floor my hands get, not very being the probable answer! Even a fairly balanced UHP today, that is such a fickle posture.

Managed to jump back on all the vinyasas today, my wrist definitley likes a firmer surface, just one twinge, but no real painful episodes. Susan makes some good points, the first in Janusirsasana B, about using the Lat’s to pull forward rather than the shoulders, I can see what she’s getting at, but I just can’t seem to engage the lat’s, she said you have to imagine it to start with, but Kino said something along those lines I remember, just think about a muscle doing something and eventually it may happen. My right knee seems to be up for doing Marichyasana B again, though again had to modify Mari D, its just too intense when the right knee is in that lotus. Navasana I need to lean back less and move the weight forward, which Susan reckons will help with the “bum” balances, this comment brought laughter from the mat next door. There’s definitley a place for a little frivolity in the Shala, it’s part of what makes the atmosphere so friendly! Great Supta Kurmasana today, managed to lift out into Dwi Pada. It’s weird but I notice myself getting tired during the Marichyasanas, but if I do a good Supta K I seem to get a top up of energy from somewhere to take me through the rest of seated. Beautiful assist in Baddha Konasana, Susan excels at the squishing assists, adding the pressure on and suddenly my body releases to the floor.

Pasasana is becoming about the bottom hand and its seeming inability to get high enough up the hip, despite a decent twist, to join up with the top hand. I tried on my own before help arrived, couldn’t quite get it to work today on either side, ended up falling out on both sides, never mind there’s always next Sunday. At least its given me the idea of what I need to work on at home with this one, it does feel doable.

Took a while to get Urdva Dhanurasana to work, I was conscious of the time having started late and perhaps I was trying to rush, eventually I slowed down, going through Dena’s UD checklist before pushing up and walking in and then the last one I got an assist, ages since I have had a UD assist. Stand up for 3 safely landed dropbacks, then 3 assisted ones, trying oh so hard to make sure it was “head last” as Susan brought me back up to standing. Unlike Pasasana this manoevre feels as far away as ever. Nice practice today, glad I went, those 2 hours are the highlight of my week, way and above anything else, which doesnt say much does it.

5 Yogis then to the cafe for breakfast , I confess I am far from being vegetarian, OMG was that bacon sarnie nice 🙂  before going off to visit the yoga show with Mel. For the second year running I tried reflexology and for the second year running I fell asleep, so am still unable to answer the question of whether this therapy does anything, well apart from cure insomnia!

 

Michael Gannon workshop

Some Bendy people

Yoga not as I know it!

10 Responses to “Shala practice & The Yoga Show”

  1. kt Says:

    I totally agree that Supta K provides a big energy boost – it’s just such a fun pose when it works. I find the Mari’s hard on the arms, so it’s nice to rest them in Navasana (even though I loathe that pose and can’t do it for shit) to get ready for the Buja – Kurmasana – Supta K power series!

  2. globie Says:

    I never thought I would do Supta K, but now I can, I love doing it and if I get a good one it seems to re-ignite the practice. I’m not a fan of Navasana either.

  3. Pat Moore Says:

    Maybe someday I’ll find that boost. For me, it’s still just tiring and a bit frustrating I do feel the energy in UD these days – enough to sometimes keep me going the rest of the day and into the night The we do things the same, the more it changes! We hope.

  4. susananda Says:

    Kevin, you are very generous – ‘help arrived… I fell over..’ Um, not quite the way it happened, sorry I’m so clumsy!!

    No. more. pasasana. ‘assists’.

    Totally forgot about the dehumidifier… oops.

    And also the chant! Aarrghhh!!!

    PS sorry not at work today to receive practice reports, couldn’t face such a long day.

  5. Globie Says:

    Not your fault Susan at all, you have to keep assisting Pasasana 🙂

    I prefer it without the dehumidifier makes that corner too chilly. I wondered if you had done the chant before I got there.

    That’s why I didn’t get a reply

    Pat it used to tire me now Pasasana does that!

  6. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Glad you had a nice time at the yoga show. Did you buy a yoga bag. Mine finally died and I bought the yoga rucksack, love it, mat feels so much easier to carry and so much better for my back.

  7. Globie Says:

    Hi Helen,

    No the mat bags at the show were not up to much, but Mel pointed out a strap carrier thing. Basically like a yoga strap with velcro ends which you secure round either end of the mat and the length inbetween becomes a handle/strap to put over your shoulder. Will give it a try and see how it works. So did you buy your rucksack one online?

  8. Helen Says:

    Hi Kevin, yes I bought it online, I’ll show you on Sunday, if we manage to meet up. Sorry I shouldn’t tempt you, hopefully the strap will work fine.

  9. Globie Says:

    Be interested to see the rucksack mat bag.

  10. Renukaprasad B.P Says:

    It’s totally good work. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

